Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Wasn't anything to brag about, but they worked. Mine had excess flour that I couldn't get rid of, not a big deal. Kids ate them so I'd use them in a pinch, but think I'll stick to buying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Just a note if using a press/rolling pin if you press between wax paper it stops the problem of sticking and the paper is reusable as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I used this recipe just a while ago. Most recipes say use lard, but I use salted butter sticks from costco. Slightly mushy butter. Only turn your pan onto the 3rd to lowest mode, they burn! Make sure they are very very thin as dough, because they will get hard when too thick. It was amazing though, the way recipe for tortillas. Make sure to add butter once done cooking ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I doubled the recipe and added a tsp of sugar. Mixed it all up in my stand mixer with dough hook. Didn't need to floor the counter to roll them out. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I made this exactly to the recipe. I doubled it. The dough was a bit dry. I added a bit more water to moisten it and let them sit on and under moist towels. I kneaded them slightly. I also use hot water. I have a recipe for thick chewy tortillas that is more of a Texas/Native American recipe that I love. These aren't as chewy as I had hoped for. Still great though! I like to add cilantro and jalapenos to my tortilla mix too, makes them very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungry816

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Nice easy recipe! Why buy at the store??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
These were good, easy to roll, but had floury taste, still not bad. Another thing, this recipe needs some adjustment, use less flour or more liquid, 3/4-1 c water not 1/2 for sure, more oil. I would not say they are better than mission tortillas. I will tweak this recipe or try another one next time, and with vegetable oil instead of crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I used butter instead of shortening and made sure the water was very hot. I probably rolled too much and added too much flour, but they still came out beautifully and remain soft after 3 days. I don't think I'll be buying grocery store tortillas again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammyjammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This recipe was quite easy to put together, I ended up with slightly crispy tortillas but they went over well with the family, that's what counts! Would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharrlamb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I recently read the list of ingredients on store-bought tortillas and was horrified, so I decided to make my own. I chose this recipe based on the ratings and reviews. It was easy, fast, and fun, and the tortillas are delicious. I used lard instead of shortening, and had to add an extra tablespoon to get the required cornmeal consistency. Dividing my dough into twelve rounds made for small, roughly 4" tortillas. I'm also not practiced at rolling so they came out in odd shapes. I fried one at a time, so with that small amount of practice by the end I had two good-sized, round ones I was proud of. I ate my very first hot, homemade tortilla with jam. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States