Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2000
I did it! I made tortillas! Thanks for posting this recipe, I thought it was very difficult to make tortillas. I added extra tablespoon or so of shortening....till cornmeal consistency. I let the dough rest an hour. They turned out wonderful! Definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISB1022

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
Great tortilla recipe--definately had to double it though. Very easy to make and the end result is wonderful! Tasty tender tortillas! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
As per some of the other reviews, I was anticipating a horrible ordeal making these, but it turned out to be quite the contrary. I used very hot water, and added about 2 tbsp. extra. Wasn't sure if I had the texture of the dough right as there was no mention of that in the recipe. They rolled out quite easily and I was able to make them quite thin. Overall, I thought they were great, and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
Awesome!!! Very easy and very tasty. When I pulled my store bought tortillas out of the fridge, I realized they had long since expired so I made this recipe at the last minute. My husband absolutely loved them and didn't leave room for dessert! I didn't make it to 12 tortillas. I made 10 instead. Our family is small so it was perfect. I don't think I'll use store bought again unless absolutely necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Great recipe! TIP: If you want the tortillas to puff up and brown when cooking (They are supposed to puff up a little, like when you fry them) and not become crunchy when cooling make sure you have the griddle preheated enough. Otherwise they come out sort of dense. Also, do make sure the water is hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
this recipe is great! i used more salt and substituted margerine for shortening. also, i did not use baking powder. One time i made w/ baking powder, and all the other times without... i liked the taste and texture of the tortillas without the baking powder. I rolled out the dough paper thin.. and then i placed a bowl on top and cut around the bowl... so all of my tortillas were the same perfect circles. Tortillas came out soft and tasty! They look store-bought, but taste much better! I have made them many many times and everyone always loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
My first ever homemade tortillas. These were great! I don't like the taste of store bought tortillas...they taste good, but have an unpleasant aftertaste. I have to confess that I used margarine instead of shortening because I was craving tortillas and didn't have any shortening. They turned out great!! These tortillas tasted great! My only regret was not doubling the recipe. Because this is my first time ever making tortillas, mine weren't very pretty. They definetly weren't nice round circles! I'll work on that each and every time I make them as I plan on making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2000
this seems like a real easy recipe and sounds like it will taste good too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
It took some time to get them rolled out nicely, but it was a fun family recipe to make. The taste was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Just perfect! Not complicated at all and really were wonderful! Going to have to make even more next time since my kids have already finished them and I doubled!!! Thanks so much for sharing this one! Really a keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States