Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
They are a little too salty and there's no way you'll be able to make 12 .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
These were perfect, I changed one thing just because I didn't want oil in them like store bought ones. So I replaced the oil with 1tsp of xanthan gum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
My family liked this recipe. I made 6 big tortillas rather than 12 smallish ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cuppycake
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
These are wonderful! I will leave out the baking powder next time as it is completely unnecessary. I added tomato and basil to mine. I might add a little wheat flour to them next time. I made spur of the moment burritos for my husband. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuppycake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Super recipe - didn't have to change a thing. For people who are having a hard time rolling these out, you might want to knead these for a bit to get the dough to a nice, silky consistency. I covered and kept them for about half and hour instead of 15 minutes. The finished tortillas were so good and they were not crispy at all. Used these with the Pico de gallo chicken quesadillas recipe from this site. Yummy! Having the leftovers for lunch today :)Almost forgot to mention - I substituted butter for the lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
The best tortillas ever! These are a little harder to roll out! They are totally worth the work! I had to use more water than it called for. I also doubled the batch and made the same amount a single batch would make. First time I made these, they didn't last long enough for my husband to come home from work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Awesome! The dough turned out great, followed other's advice and omitted the baking powder. No more store bought tortillas for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
These were great and super easy to make. I tried to make then a little healthier and used EVOO instead of shortening and whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, but my tortillas were dry, hard to roll out, and after cooking them they tasted like a cracker. For me it will be better to keep buying them from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This recipe worked well. I believe this takes some practice though. The first batch turned out a bit tough and floury, but I would attribute that to my skill and not this recipe. The second batched turned out much better. However, some toritillas were tougher than others. So, inconsistent throughout the batch. I give this recipe 4 stars as I think it is the right mix of ingredients. One needs to enhance their skills at handling the dough to get the right result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States