Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very good, added 2T shortening as other reviewers suggested, and had to end up adding extra water also to make it the right dough-y consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I don't know what I did, but these weren't that good. They tasted alright but the dough was really dry and I had to add extra water to get the dough to pull together and they were tough to roll out. They weren't flexible (lucky for me I was making quesadillas so they didn't have to wrap around anything. And I rolled them very thin but they got a little thicker while cooking. I don't think I'll even try this one again. It was more work than it's worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
We love these tortillas! Please keep in mind (according to one of my hispanic friends), tortilla making is a learned skill. The more of these I make, the better they are. Things that make them easier to make: use very hot water; you may need more water than the recipe calls for, I find a nice soft dough (but not sticky) works best for me; I use more shortening than called for; it took time for me to get nice round tortilla - don't expect store-bought round; double the recipe and finally, when cooking, I keep the cooked tortillas covered with foil - they are always nice and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
First time I've ever made tortillas. These turned out great!!! Had no trouble rolling. Added a little bit more water than recipe stated. Will for sure make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki1152

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I liked the recipe and the taste was good but i couldnt get them thin enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desii

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
These are great! I thought they were kind of small, so next time, I'll plan better. Regardless, they taste great! Also, my husband and I cut them up and deep fried them for tortilla chips which were also fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I used these tortillas for the chorizo breakfast burrito and it was awesome... Definitely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Hall Lynam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
They are a little too salty and there's no way you'll be able to make 12 .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
These were perfect, I changed one thing just because I didn't want oil in them like store bought ones. So I replaced the oil with 1tsp of xanthan gum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
My family liked this recipe. I made 6 big tortillas rather than 12 smallish ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States