Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This recipe is great! I used whole wheat instead of all purpose flour and baking soda instead of baking powder. Hearty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Good, although a little hard to roll out though. Heat has to be turned down 1/3 the way through or they burn too quickly,.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These are simply brilliant! I was craving a tortilla tonight but I was low on money, so purchasing was not in mind. I found this recipe and it saved me money and saved me from my craving! I wrapped my tortillas in plastic bags then in a towel to keep them nice and moist since they were quite crispy. I also took a plate and used that to cut my tortilla's in nice circles! Thanks for this lovely recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
We have had a blizzard here and are pretty much out of groceries, so I thought I would try these. They definitely taste better than store bought, but not as soft as some other made from scratch. I didn't have shortening so I used butter instead. Also, I used kosher salt and they were super salty. I think I will try them again with shortening and hot water like another member suggested. Even though they weren't excellent they were still pretty good and not too much work, my kids even helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
first time i ever made these - so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BananaRo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Great recipe, first time I ever made flat bread and turn out great. Needed to double the recipe to make big enough tortillas for the kids to fill but turned out really well. A couple were dry but I think it came down to the storage prior to serving. I used a damp t-towel and most were fine. I also cook them on an electic crepe cooker and they were fine. No complaints from the kids...score 1 to Dad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
These tortillas came out hard as a rock. I dont know if I did something wrong or what? I will try it again and see if the second time works better than the first! Wish me luck! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very good, added 2T shortening as other reviewers suggested, and had to end up adding extra water also to make it the right dough-y consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I don't know what I did, but these weren't that good. They tasted alright but the dough was really dry and I had to add extra water to get the dough to pull together and they were tough to roll out. They weren't flexible (lucky for me I was making quesadillas so they didn't have to wrap around anything. And I rolled them very thin but they got a little thicker while cooking. I don't think I'll even try this one again. It was more work than it's worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
We love these tortillas! Please keep in mind (according to one of my hispanic friends), tortilla making is a learned skill. The more of these I make, the better they are. Things that make them easier to make: use very hot water; you may need more water than the recipe calls for, I find a nice soft dough (but not sticky) works best for me; I use more shortening than called for; it took time for me to get nice round tortilla - don't expect store-bought round; double the recipe and finally, when cooking, I keep the cooked tortillas covered with foil - they are always nice and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States