Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Thanks for providing measurements. My mom was a "pinch of this, handful of that" type of cook, so I never had a consistent recipe. A couple of suggestions: Once the dough comes together, pinch them off in to equal-sized balls. Rub a small amount of oil on them, then place in an oiled bowl. If you have a gas stove, place the covered bowl in the oven (don't turn on the oven) and let sit as described. The oil prevents the dough from getting too sticky, and the warmth makes them lighter in texture (almost like rising bread) and more pliable. Make sure that you also flour the rolling pin to prevent the masa from sticking. You may also need to gently stretch the margins of each tortilla prior to cooking, as they tenf to shrink a little. Again, great recipe! My non-Hispanic friends are drooling already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
These tasted all right, but no matter how hard I rolled or how much I stretched the dough, I could not get one to a 7" diameter, and they were much thicker than commercial tortillas when cooked. Maybe more water, or another tablespoon of shortening would make the dough more pliable. At least my family found my first effort edible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
They tasted good but I wasn't able to get them thin enough for my liking even with a press or rolling them. I'll try a little more water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Thank you for the measurments. I make them all the time but never had a reciepe... Yahoo.. I do now and it worked out fine. Tips that Iwould recommend it making sure your water is very hot I use boiling hot and use a fork to stir till my hands can tolerate the heat. Then knead dough and I use a plastic wrap the ball and clean up the mess I have made. Get my pan ready approx 20 min later I pinch the dough and make a round ball and press to a flat disk then roll from the center out it should come out round and even on edges. Try to get the same amount of dough each time for consitant tortilla. Now it is hard to find a small roller but those are the best approx 8 inches long and 1" diameter. Don't cook too long look at resturants or store bought see they are not real brown... Now if you want to increase taste use lard....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I love these tortillas. I make them, use the ones I need, and freeze the rest. I love having fresh tortillas in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YumLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Veracruz, Veracruz, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Awesome recipe! My 4 year old loved them plain. I loved the fact that these had little shortening in them to make it more healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This recipe is great! I used whole wheat instead of all purpose flour and baking soda instead of baking powder. Hearty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Good, although a little hard to roll out though. Heat has to be turned down 1/3 the way through or they burn too quickly,.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These are simply brilliant! I was craving a tortilla tonight but I was low on money, so purchasing was not in mind. I found this recipe and it saved me money and saved me from my craving! I wrapped my tortillas in plastic bags then in a towel to keep them nice and moist since they were quite crispy. I also took a plate and used that to cut my tortilla's in nice circles! Thanks for this lovely recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
We have had a blizzard here and are pretty much out of groceries, so I thought I would try these. They definitely taste better than store bought, but not as soft as some other made from scratch. I didn't have shortening so I used butter instead. Also, I used kosher salt and they were super salty. I think I will try them again with shortening and hot water like another member suggested. Even though they weren't excellent they were still pretty good and not too much work, my kids even helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States