Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
As per some of the other reviews, I was anticipating a horrible ordeal making these, but it turned out to be quite the contrary. I used very hot water, and added about 2 tbsp. extra. Wasn't sure if I had the texture of the dough right as there was no mention of that in the recipe. They rolled out quite easily and I was able to make them quite thin. Overall, I thought they were great, and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
My first ever homemade tortillas. These were great! I don't like the taste of store bought tortillas...they taste good, but have an unpleasant aftertaste. I have to confess that I used margarine instead of shortening because I was craving tortillas and didn't have any shortening. They turned out great!! These tortillas tasted great! My only regret was not doubling the recipe. Because this is my first time ever making tortillas, mine weren't very pretty. They definetly weren't nice round circles! I'll work on that each and every time I make them as I plan on making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
Not enough shortening! It needs at least 3 times as much. In order to make good tortillas the water must be as hot as you can stand it. I would never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
Awesome!!! Very easy and very tasty. When I pulled my store bought tortillas out of the fridge, I realized they had long since expired so I made this recipe at the last minute. My husband absolutely loved them and didn't leave room for dessert! I didn't make it to 12 tortillas. I made 10 instead. Our family is small so it was perfect. I don't think I'll use store bought again unless absolutely necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
I forgot how much work it was to make your own tortillas. Oh, the flavor is so much better than store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Valley, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
I try this recipe and it turn out flaky and hard. I can't fold it without tearing it apart. I'm still searching for the right recipe and stick to my store bought for the time being.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Just perfect! Not complicated at all and really were wonderful! Going to have to make even more next time since my kids have already finished them and I doubled!!! Thanks so much for sharing this one! Really a keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
This was a fun recipe to try. My arms got sore from rolling out the dough - but they were really delicious. I made chicken fahitas in them. Next time I'll double the recipe and save some for breakfast burritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VDODDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
I had a lot of trouble rolling the dough into rounds... It was good, but I think I'll try store-bought tortillas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dijon, Bourgogne, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
Great tortilla recipe--definately had to double it though. Very easy to make and the end result is wonderful! Tasty tender tortillas! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States