Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Super easy and turned out nicely. Mine came out thin and kind of delicate. I didn't use hot water, uh was I supposed to? The dough was really sticky when I made 6 little balls of it, but I floured my hands well and the rolling pin too and they turned out just like I get at a local taqueria! My first homemade tortillas... so simple. The taste was decent too, but not anything wow. I used White Wings flour as it's recommended for tortilla making. I cut this in half and got 6 tortillas just as stated. To keep these warm and make them soft, I put them in my tortilla keeper as soon as they are done and put the lid on, by the time you have cooked the last one, the others are all still warm and very soft and pliable too. Thanks Teresa for sharing this, I really enjoyed trying these. UPDATE: Second time around I made the full recipe. I used the hottest tap water and it did take more than the given amount to get the dough to ball up. Somehow I got 13 tortillas out of this? They weren't 7 inches, only 6. I have trouble getting them circular as mine are a bit lopsided as you can see in the pic, but they were almost as good as my favorite taqueria's so who cares?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Laura-Jane
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These turned out perfectly, and they were my first attempt at tortillas. BUT HOLY COW, ROLLING THIN TORTILLAS IS EXHAUSTING! We rolled them extremely thinly, because we needed them to be large enough for our recipe ("Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos"). Once we got them rolled out (worked fine, but is tiring) and cooked in a cast-iron pan, they were divine to work with. They were crispy, but were still maleable enough to fill to the brim and roll. I give this recipe an A+, but, man, rolling is a lot of work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura-Jane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Just made 'em for the first time ever. I think they might have turned out just fine. Used no baking powder, hot water and extra shortening. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Thanks so much for this!! Dough was easy to find the perfect consistancy, which is usually a nightmirror for my husband and I . Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I increased the water to 2/3 cup, and I accidently forgot the baking powder and they still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
This recipe is awesome! I have never made tortillas before, and it was an easy yummy recipe! I used 1/4 cup shortening as recommended by other users and they turned out great. My husband said no more need to buy store bought tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I did one batch with a few changes: I used the 2 cups flour, about ½ tsp salt, ½ tsp baking powder, 4 or 5 TBS lard, and more like 5/8 cup of water. I used the food processor to mix the ingredients, and I let the big ball of dough rest for maybe 45 minutes. I also let the small dough balls (I made 8) rest for maybe 15 minutes before rolling out. They weren't very pretty, but they tasted great! The first side cooked for about 45 seconds, the second for maybe 30 seconds. To reheat and soften them up, I popped two at a time in the microwave with damp paper towels around and between them for 15 seconds. Excellent and tasty! Thanks for sharing, Teresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Wow! I just made this and they turned out great. They taste better than the ones from the grocery. I too added more shortening, and I found it easier to roll all the dough out and use a bowl to cut perfect circles out. Then, to get them thin enough, I rolled each circle out until I could see the grain of my rolling surface through the dough. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I was able to get 12 tortillas but they were much too small. I probably should have just made 6 instead. Next time I'll make a double batch. TIP: I substituted 1/2 cup of the regular flour with wheat flour. It gave it a fantastic flavor but I had to add more water to make the dough firm enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States