Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
These were very good - I used half whole wheat flour. However, I think tortillas are just one of those things that are easier to buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Yum! I suggest making eight rather than twelve with this recipe. Even when I got them as flat as they would go, they were still very small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
These are wonderful. Turned out perfect. My only change was to warm the water a little. The first two were mis-shapen so slowed down and made into round disc shapes first before rolling thin. Fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
After trying other recipes (Authentic Mexican Tortillas and Mexican Whole Wheat Flour Tortillas) I can say this one is the one I like best. It is low in fat but tastes great! It is easy to make and if you let it rest at least 1 hour it rolls out thin and holds together like the ones you buy at the store. I took the advice of other reviewers and used very hot water and was careful to not overcook them. That is very important to be sure they are soft enough to fold. It only takes about 10-15 seconds per side. I also like 10-12 inch tortillas so I only made 7 out of the recipe so they would be big enough for soft tacos for my teen age boys. With the price of store tortillas going up so much this is a great way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Mackay Henslee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
We had middle school girls in our after-school program make these, and they came out really really good! I think they had a little trouble pressing them the right amount (they were thick), but a tortilla press would've been really helpful for that... The flavor was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
These are great but i had to make them twice the first batch did not have enough water, so they were hard and craking and i surely could not bend them, i threw that batch out and tried again, this time i added water until the dough formed a ball but was almost to the sticky stage but if you get to the sticky stage add more flour, i formed little balls and I let them rest for 30 mins, you should be able to roll out the dough without any cracks forming along the edges and it not be sticky, when cooked they were perfect i was able to bend them and they are going to be perfect in tonight dinner. Good luck all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I love home made tortillas and this was a good recipe. I did use lard instead of shorting and i cooked them in a non stick pan on medhigh to high for about 5sec on each side then put them in a zip lock that had a moist paper towel in it imediatly until i was ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
These are so much better than store bought! My family loved them. I deep fried the left overs and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on them. Just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy.marchand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
These were really good! I didn't end up cooking them very long because after the first one (I let it get bubbly like the recipe states) I could tell they would be too crunchy to roll up for the burritos I was making. I also used half whole wheat flour and they were perfect! Thanks for an easy tortilla recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I just want to know how to keep the tortillas soft. The recipe worked ok, I guess, but they got too crisp too fast, and broke when we tried to eat them. I put them in a plastic bag as they came off the griddle, with a damp tea towel inside the bag, and that didn't work. Help? Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States