Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Somewhat too salty, and not easy to roll the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linpeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
It was different than what I thought, but easier to make than I thought. I rolled my dough out paper thin, but when it cooked up it had alot more bread on the inside. Not sure if that was supposed to happen or not. It tasted very good otherwise, but it's kinda like a wrap, not a tortilla. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyOfMarine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This was the first time I ever made tortillas from scratch and I feel very proud of my creations! This was very easy, but there was no way I was getting 12 tortillas that could have any kind of filling in them! I made 7-8 medium sized tortillas, and the only complaint I have is that they were pretty crunchy and stiff. I wish the instructions said to roll them out SUPER THIN, and gave hints for keeping them soft. Next time I will double the recipe and try putting them in a plastic bag to get soft. THANKS for the great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCalRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I have to work on my shaping. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Instead of shortening, I used 3:1 parts butter and honey -- the honey definitely made the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I made them exactly as said and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I made these for dinner tonight and I was very impressed and so was my family. Right now they think I'm pretty amazing so 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
made these last night for supper. really good straigh off the griddle, unfortunately, i made them earlier in the day, so by the time we ate them they were tough. my falt though!! easier to roll out than i thought they would be!! will make again, only closer to supper time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
***FOR NON-CRUNCHY TORTILLAS, PLACE COOKED TORTILLAS IN A PLASTIC BAG. IT GETS MOISTURE BACK IN IT AND WILL MAKE THEM SOFT AND PLIABLE. ALSO MAKE SURE YOU DON'T OVER COOK THEM.*** I've made tortillas before and I would have to say that these turned out very good. I made Bacon 'n' Egg Wraps with the tortillas and my husband was amazed at the ease and speed of making such a wonderful breakfast. ***MODIFICATION*** I substituted the shortening with equal amounts of butter. Tortilla recipe would make 6 servings. ***UPDATE*** To make tortilla bowls for taco salad, I placed uncooked tortillas on top of a ball of aluminum foil. Make sure you spray the ball with PAM so it doesn't stick. Cook for 400 degrees for about 10-15 minutes, depending how big the tortillas are. This makes healthier non-fried bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Wow, I am so impressed by these tortillas. I tripled the recipe, which made 13 huge burrito sized tortillas. I won't use another recipe. Did have to add a little more water than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States