Tortillas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I was expecting tortillas to be much harder to make. This recipe was super easy, very few ingredients which make them tons and tons cheaper than the grocery store. The only change I made was to use half whole wheat flour and half all purpose. I also needed quite a bit more water but that probably had to do with the flour switch. I only ended up with 7 or so, so next time I'll double or triple the recipe. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These had a very nice flavor, much better even than the preservative-free "homestyle" tortillas you get at Whole Foods. You do need to let the dough rest for quite a while, at least 30 minutes, to allow the gluten to relax before rolling them. I also found they needed just a bit more water, but I think this depends on the brand of flour you use. I used King Arthur, which does seem to absorb more liquid than others I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
My Grandma used to make tortillas daily. She would roll & flip them so quickly -she was amazing!!! Her tortillas were delicious, thin, soft and PERFECTLY round. Well I probably have about twenty years before mine even come close to hers but this is a start! My mom never measures when she makes hers but we made some together and figured these are pretty darn close! When I rolled these thin they turned out like crackers. Rolled slightly thicker, they stayed soft. My Grandma always divided her dough, then let it rest for about 30 minutes & always cooked them on a cast iron comal. They're best fresh but if there are any left, we wrap the stack in a paper towel and put them in a plastic bag. Just zap each tortilla in the microwave for about 10 seconds when you're ready to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Excellent tortillas!! These were a snap to throw together and tasted great. I made 8 large tortillas instead of 12 smaller ones because we like to really stuff them. They rolled out nicely and really thin. Didn't need much bench four but it's a dry day out today. Foe those of you having trouble rolling them out. You need to really let them rest. Flour has a lot of gluten and when you mix it the gluten strands get tight. That is why should also take care not to over knead the dough either. Let it rest for at least 20 min. before rolling and another 20 min. before cooking. This will give you a great tortilla. I usually roll them early in the day and cook them up right before eating. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
These were perfect texture and taste. I used them to make enchiladas and they came out soft but sturdy even after baking in sauce. I will definately cut into fewer pieces before rolling out for a larger tortilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I love the flavor and texture of these over the store brands. I use butter flavored shortening and this gives a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Loved this. It's a great thing to do with kids too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Fun to make! We had taco night and my family enjoyed them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I was disappointed that I wasn't able to use my new tortilla press (from Amazon) with this recipe, but rolling it out paper thin was easy with a rolling pin. I did substitute the shortening with Blue Bonnet Light Margerine Spread and it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I have been making these for several months now. My family is so spoiled, I will never be able to buy tortillas at the store again! When we use these to make quesadillas in our panini maker, we will throw some plain tortillas in the panini maker until crisp.....they turn out like a cracker/pita chip and they don't stick around long enough to find out how amazing they would actually be with a dip. Tonight the tortillas will be used for baked chimichangas. I have no doubt they will be perfect for that as well! Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States