Tortillas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Oh my gosh!! This recipe is sooo easy and I love it. First though** make sure they are very very thin. They get hard if not. Also, put butter in the pan before adding dough. It makes them crunchy on the edges, and salty. After removing tortillas, add butter while still hot. I put my extras in the fridge. It is so easy, it doesn't need to sit, and it still tastes like a true home style tortilla at the restaraunts. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
My family has used this recipe for months and it is great. It tastes great and it's easy to make. My 10 year old makes them using our tortilla press we bought at a little Mexican grocery. We do sub the shortening with butter or coconut oil though. Love, Love, LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I tried another recipe for tortillas and it wasn't as good as this one. I used butter for the shortening and they turned out great - the tortillas were soft and delicious. I followed other reviewers' suggestions to limit the amount of rolling I did with the rolling pin. I just pushed hard and rolled once, then turned it 180 degrees and did the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I make tortillas every day. Some tips would be to not add too much BP, it will make hard tortillas! No more than 1 tsp. for a recipe this size. Also, knead only until well-combined, this is not a bread recipe and over-kneading will also make them tough. I suggest letting dough balls rest, and refrigerating them (just throw 'em in a plastic container) for a few hours before using. You can also keep the dough balls for a week, refrigerated in the same container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I grew up eating store brought tortillas and this was the first time I made them at home so I'm not really the most knowledgable on authentic tortillas, but these came out really good. I found that I needed more water than called for- over a half of a cup more! The only substitution I made was to use bacon fat instead of the shortening. My tortillas came out soft, pliable, and chewy (in a good way). I put the leftover tortillas and a damp paper towel in a ziploc bag in the fridge in the hopes that they'll stay soft and chewy when we finish the batch off this weekend. Good recipe that I'll definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Made this exactly what it called for. Tasteless and after cooked very hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I tried this recipe because it had such good reviews and I have been wanting to try to make my own tortillas. I have to admit that I really didn't think it would turn out. Boy, I was wrong. The recipe was terrific and so easy to make. At first, I was making them too thick but once I got the hang of it, it was smooth sailing! So good. Thank you for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I tried it and couldn't wait for it to cool .. Excellent easy recipe that just takes small effort and big effect !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I have tried a different recipe on here before, they turned out okay...but nothing better than the tortillas in the store...this recipe was so delicious! I did use some olive oil inside the mixture to give a little flavor and also make it easier to roll out. Although I didn't think this would turn out well, after making, my 3 year old couldn't resist eating one plain, so I tried it and it was just 100% better than store bought, and the sautéed chicken I made to go on it with a touch of ranch dressing went so well together! Thank you so much for this recipe! Very much appreciated! :) I will always make homemade tortillas from now on!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States