Tortillas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was my first experience with making tortillas. We have been using so many store-bought ones that I thought I should try to make my own. I'm so glad that I did. This recipe was so easy. For our preferences, I tried it using only whole wheat flour, and only made 1/2 batch in case they didn't turn out well. I also doubled the salt. I did need to add quite a bit more water since I was using the whole wheat flour and it was a dry winter day. I bake a lot of bread, so I've already learned that the amount of water needed depends on the humidity and the type of flour you're using. I made mine bigger, only got 15 out of half the recipe. I rolled them very thin, and cooked them in my non-stick skillet on med/high heat for about 45-60 seconds on each side. No more store-bought tortillas for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I've never made tortillas before and decided to try this recipe because it seemed pretty simple. I don't know what I was expecting but it definitely wasn't what I got!! Still definitely delicious, and I know I didn't follow the recipe to a T (I only had margerine as shortening, and I cut the recipe down to 12 - I only got 6 small ones!) but when I tore off pieces of the first tortilla straight off the stove, it was so scrumptious I couldn't believe it! Soft, steamy middle, crisp outside... yum. :) My only word of advice is WATCH YOUR BUBBLES! They will burn very quickly but leave the rest of the side pretty uncooked after you turn them over. My advice: press them down while you're frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillette

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I tried this recipe as my first attempt at making torillas. Overall it turned out very well. I did have some interesting shapes including the accidental heart shaped one. I think a tortilla press my be in my future. I used 4 tablespoons margarine and about 1 1/4 cup boiling water. I used my breadmaker (dough/pasta setting or another non-baking cycle) to knead the dough. The breadmaker cut down on the work and also kept the dough warm while I was rolling out the tortillas. I made a full batch which was good because there were some bloppers. My electric stove was much too hot on the med high setting, about medium or a little less worked best for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
YUMMY! I added liquified spinach instead of the water and these were amazing wraps! I'm making tortillas with them now. but wow - I need a tortilla press! These are awesome and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdadof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
very good, but oh so time consuming for a new tortilla maker. I suggest making these in the evening if you have small children. I put the left overs in the freezer and I am hoping they freeze well. I am glad these make a lot. I would hate to do all that work and have every single last one eaten every time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I used coconut oil in place of the shortening. This recipe makes a very soft dough that is easy to roll thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Morgan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Fantastic! This was the first time ever making them and we'll never buy store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sides Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Always a fan of fajitas, brought up the level of my fajita recipe with these little gems!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Excellent! I have been searching for a tortilla recipe for years. They always ended up like crackers. I saw that this recipe had less shortening which made me nervous, but proof was in the tortilla! I had bacon grease on hand from breakfast and added that to the griddle before placing the tortillas on to cook. **NOTE** I used twice the amount of salt just for my personal taste. I also used all the water recommended (not boiling just hot) and even added about 1/4 cup more after everything was mixed because my dough still looked like flakes of flour handed got sticky yet. Love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by askbigmel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
very good! These are chewy and don't break when you fold them. Next time I will add more salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States