Tortillas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
These tortillas are easy to make and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I like this recipe but I found the torillas little too hard, they keep breaking when I make wraps. So I tried to add an extra cup of boilng water and instead of baking powder I use dired yeast. Now it's perfect. Better than store bought. And I make them from 100% whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbora

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
More like a water cracker than a soft tortilla. Friends suggested more lard and salt. I liked the idea of less calories, which is why I tried this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Yay! I made tortillas! Excellent recipe. As a personal preference I will add a bit more salt next time. I followed the recipe and it was great! Thank you for sharing. I just purchased a tortilla press on Amazon to make this easier next time. The rolling takes some time but it was fun :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
They turn out just like store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
These are great when you can get them thin enough. We don't have a tortilla press, so its kind of difficult, but we have managed and they turned out with a nice texture and delicious. Even after keeping one day in the fridge they were still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This is a great low-fat, low-salt recipe. I modified it just a bit by using half white and half whole-wheat flour. I also needed just a tiny bit more water. My family loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Thanks for posting this recipe but the salt amount is way OFF. I made the first tortilla and it tasted like just cooked flour. I ended up sprinkling salt on my work surface, hoping it absorbs some saltiness then I experimented with adding some cumin seeds and sea salt.... it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was my first experience with making tortillas. We have been using so many store-bought ones that I thought I should try to make my own. I'm so glad that I did. This recipe was so easy. For our preferences, I tried it using only whole wheat flour, and only made 1/2 batch in case they didn't turn out well. I also doubled the salt. I did need to add quite a bit more water since I was using the whole wheat flour and it was a dry winter day. I bake a lot of bread, so I've already learned that the amount of water needed depends on the humidity and the type of flour you're using. I made mine bigger, only got 15 out of half the recipe. I rolled them very thin, and cooked them in my non-stick skillet on med/high heat for about 45-60 seconds on each side. No more store-bought tortillas for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I've never made tortillas before and decided to try this recipe because it seemed pretty simple. I don't know what I was expecting but it definitely wasn't what I got!! Still definitely delicious, and I know I didn't follow the recipe to a T (I only had margerine as shortening, and I cut the recipe down to 12 - I only got 6 small ones!) but when I tore off pieces of the first tortilla straight off the stove, it was so scrumptious I couldn't believe it! Soft, steamy middle, crisp outside... yum. :) My only word of advice is WATCH YOUR BUBBLES! They will burn very quickly but leave the rest of the side pretty uncooked after you turn them over. My advice: press them down while you're frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillette

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 71-80 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States