Tortillas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
These were surprisingly easy to make. The hardest part was getting the tortillas to be round! They tasted even better than the ones in the store, but looked just like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was my first attempt at making tortillas and I found the process fun and the results quite yummy. Rolling the tortilla from the center and then flipping was a helpful pattern that I would not have discovered on my own. They cook quickly, almost faster that seems possible, yet they are done and tender. I chose to make a half batch in the event they were not to my liking. A half batch made 10 taco sized tortillas. I used a inverted bowl as a template to cut perfect circles after I had rolled them and it worked well. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This recipe is great! Growing up my mom always made homemade tortillas and they taste so much better than the ones from the store. For ones who have trouble rolling it out, made sure not to over knead the dough, this will made it more difficult to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I had a difficult time keeping the "dough" together and ended up adding more shortening. I used the dough to wrap up cheesecake and fry it. We got the idea from Aunt Chilada's in Hilton Head. take it out of the fryer and roll it in cinnamon/sugar just like a donut and eat it over cinnamon/sugar ice cream...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I've never made tortillas before and thought I'd give this a try :)! I certainly need practice, but they came out good and I had a lot of fun! I definitely agree that a tortilla press would come in handy simply because I had a hard time getting them thin enough without over working them. Also, for those who are used to store bought tortillas, these are much smaller. They are bout 6 inches across. The taste MUCH better though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I lost my original recipe so I made these as listed knowing that the fat was the only difference. These came out bland, but it didn't matter so much since I made tacos with them and the filling was flavorful. I have a few tips for those who are less adept at making tortillas. First, ask if you can watch and help someone experienced. Just about everyone who makes awesome tortillas will tell you that they learned from someone else. Next, if you want a tortilla that you can nibble on I recommend using bacon grease or butter for flavor. Also, IMO, the only two things that contribute to tough, crunchy tortillas are not enough water in the dough and overcooking them. Both come with practice and patience, and keep in mind that you want to use the highest heat possible to just barely brown the outside while just barely cooking the inside. Multitasking is key, as well, to making this short and quick. Roll out tortilla A, place it on the skillet, start rolling out tortilla B, flip A finish rolling out B, put A on a plate between a towel and put B on the skillet, and so on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
These were not good. Me nor my husband liked them, they tasted like dough. We even fried them in butter later and it still tasted bad. Not sure what I could have done different. Used another recipe before that tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I used this recipe for the first time I ever made tortillas. The recipe was very easy to follow but tortillas were really hard to roll out. Before you attempt to make this make sure you have a good rolling pin and you might want to cook for more like 45 sec on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
These were very easy to make. The dough was soft and easy to work with. I will add more salt next time though. I am living in China and good tortillas are on the the things I miss the most! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Easy! Im not a good cook and have never made tortilla's before....this was easy and turned out great. I agree, cook less...this keeps them soft and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmalavenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States