Tortillas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These are not worth the time, effort, or the flour. They tasted like communion bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I've tried many tortilla recipes on this site and this is honestly the first one that had a taste even remotely close to what I wanted or liked. I really like the texture of these and they're very easy to make. Thanks for sharing. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
These were wonderful! I cut the recipe to 24 and got half that (which is what I was expecting) so golf balls and tortillas must be smaller elsewhere. Here is how I rolled them out. I made the balls, and then flattened them a bit between two cutting boards. They were about 2 inches across. Then I rolled them out, stacking them up as I went. At the end, I inverted the stack so the oldest one was one top. Then I rolled one out again - by allowing the dough to relax, I got it thinner. As each one cooked, I rolled out the next one. I am going to get a tortilla press to make it a little easier, but it really was pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
So easy and so delicious! Made as written but reduced to 12 servings. Big mistake! Everyone wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorna164

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I used butter instead of lard to make them vegetarian and they are WONDERFUL! I will never use store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I thought these were fantastic. I followed just as it is written, didn't have a problem at all with rolling them out like other reviews. Thanks for the great recipe, I don't think I'll ever buy them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was my first attempt at making tortillas, so I was a little nervous. So glad I chose this recipe! I cut the recipe in half and added a tbs of butter to the shortening. I had no problem rolling out the dough, it was very easy. It only made about 12 larger tortillas (what I was hoping for.) They are so soft and taste amazing! They were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was awful! I went by the recipe but I only needed about 5 instead of 60 so I had the computer custom the recipe for me and it was WRONG! It was nothing but a hard dough that just crumbled! So I guess you need to make all 60 for them to turn out right.....there is only two in my family! What a waste of good ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Coming from a fam that makes tortillas for evey meal of the day. I noticed 2 things wrong, but I gave it the benefit of the doubt and did the recipe. The tortillas tasted good and fluffed but, they became hard quickly not to mention texture was more like a pita bread then a tortilla. Suggest: La Pina brand flour not all purpose, only use lard or butter and warm water needs to be poured in a bit at a time, kneeding it first throughly before adding a bit more. After I followed the exact directions then they came out GREAT and lasted 4 days! with a quick reheat in the microwave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tijir

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Breckenridge, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States