Tortillas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
First time making tortillas - the recipe was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
alot like matzos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Gausmann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Culpeper, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Nice! My first try at making tortillas and true to form allrecipes has offered up another winner. I did pretty well for not having ever made these before. I didn't have shortning/lard so I used the canola oil I had and it went very well. I need to practice rolling them out so they are not so thick but I am very pleased and even just making this first batch I can see improvement from the first ones to the last. I will definitely keep making these. Sweet !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweettea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Nothing special, quite dry. I ended up adding 1/4 tsp. per tortilla half way into them even after using the full cup and a half of water. If you add extra water, they taste okay. Needs something more for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I am really excited to find this recipe. I followed a few suggestions and they came out perfectly. I am from south Texas so I know good tortilllas! *Tips: Double the salt. Blend in Food Processor as to not overmix. Add 3 extra Tbls. of Water Coat pan with bacon grease before cooking each tortilla. Store cooked tortillas on a plate between a kitchen towel. As you are cooking one, be rolling the next one out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I decided to make this a bit more nutritious by using whole wheat flour for half the flour. I also used the suggestion of another reviewer and used bacon lard instead of shortening since I had it on hand. Halving the recipe was much more manageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ida, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Boston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This one is a total keeper! If you decide to use all 5 c. of flour, I suggest you split the dough in half, leaving some oil on top, and covering with a warm/hot towel. That way it will be easier to roll once you get to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YumLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Veracruz, Veracruz, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Good recipe for homemade tortillas. The only problem I had was that they became hard after cooking. I will try again with less cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
My first time to ever make tortillas and these were awesome and easy!! We will be making these all the time for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These are not worth the time, effort, or the flour. They tasted like communion bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States