Tortillas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Usually, I use a different recipe from this site, and they taste ok, but these are soooooo much better!! They tasted great, and the texture was perfect. I did use rendered bacon fat, because I didn't have lard, but yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagikStarr
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Easy recipe and it makes delicious tortillas. I followed it exactly and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Easier in some respects than I thought, but harder in others than I thought. mixing it up was easy, rolling it out was difficult. Maybe a wetter dough would be easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
These were great! I overcooked the first one, and it turned out crispy. The rest were all soft and tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Ok, I made these this morning. I preheated the oven to 200 then turned it off when i started putting finished wraps in to keep warm and used a 9in glass covered casserole dish instead of a towel and served right from that. This is a good, simple recipe. Easy to follow. I made my dough, then just sprinkled flour over it right in bowl to knead till elastic and smooth, then just poured about 3t olive oil over it ,turned it a couple times to coat then covered and let rest as directed. Didnt need so much time in skillet, maybe about a min the first side and 30 sec or so on other. Here's my trick though, instead of risking even more flour to roll out, which i thought maybe would make them tough, I flattened my dough balls onto waxed paper, folded it over it, then rolled it out. The oil on the balls help to peel it off paper easily. Though you will have to replace the paper every couple of wraps, as the paper gets "worn" from the rolling and will stick . After making these a couple of times, I decided to add a touch of zing to mine, a couple of shakes of onion powder added to the flour mix adds a very nice touch without being overwhelming. I never buy them in a store now, compared to these, the packaged ones in the bread aisle are like trying to swallow a wool blanket. Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Amazing!! I have tried a few tortilla recipes on this site, and this is by far the best! Best tasting, and easiest to make/work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
These turned out great, followed the recipe (but used hot tap water instead of boiling). Had to knead for a lot longer than expected. Rolling was tough, but I found that stretching the dough at intervals during rolling really helped. Turned out soft and very fold-able for fajitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Our favorite tortilla recipe thus far! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Good, but too much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I halved this recipe and got about 14 tortillas, all different shapes & sizes, lol! Anyway, they do need more flavor, double the salt. They were easy to roll out. I used my tortilla press and it only pressed out tiny baby tortillas. So, I would finish rolling them out with a rolling pin. I do need more practice rolling them out. They are pliable and didn't break. My grandmother made fresh homemade tortillas and stored them wrapped in foil and then wrapped a kitchen towel around them. They were placed in a plastic bowl in the microwave. They would stay nice and fresh and pliable this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States