Tortillas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I am changing our review on this recipe! I actually reviewed this recipe on March 16 after the first time I made it. I only gave it 4 stars that time. I just made it again today. I made it (half of it)into fried taco bowls. I did add more salt (about 1/2 tsp. for the half recipe) than it calls for and made sure the water was boiling. This was the softest easiest "bread" type recipe I have ever rolled out. When I fried them, they were perfect. Definitely a great recipe! The half recipe made 8 large finely rolled tortillas that were about 10 inches in diameter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook74

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I scaled the recipe down to half which should have made 30 servings, but I only ended up with 11 tortillas,that were about 7 inches, and I did use golf ball size amounts of dough. The flavor and the texture were wonderful. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginnybaby19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
these were good, i used lard instead of shortening because it has more flavor i also added more lard and a little less water. A helpfull hint if you dont have a rolling pin a empty wine bottle can sometimes be just as usefull
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WetWolf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This is a great recipe! The tortillas are very easy to make, they stayed soft, and tasted good! To ensure that they stayed moist, I put them in a plastic bag while still warm. This did the trick, and my family really enjoyed the tortillas. I did find that this recipe made less than half of the amount it was supposed to make! I might have made them too thick, however. Thanks for a easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Thanks for this fast and easy recipee. I have always wanted to make some homemade tortillas but thought it would be difficult. I was wrong, this recipee was a good one, I just added a little bit more water and next time I would add just a little bit more salt. But other then that this recipee was a success. Thanks once again .. Chef Bernard Paul
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Really good recipe. Only difficult thing was getting the tortillas flat enough (they rise when cooked). Also I found that "golf ball" sized dough was not large enough, I doubled the size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was a wonderfully easy and tasty recipe. My 12-year-old daughter made these tortillas by herself, and we ate them along with "Refried Beans Without the Refry." Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
These get a 5 star all the way from us! Hubby is Mexican-American and I HAD to learn to make tortillas for him. This is the recipe I always use! He used to help his grandmother make tortillas, so he was with me the first few times I made these. He taught me that you can use different fats to change the taste of the tortilla, as well. He loves his made with lard (ugh, I know) or cold bacon grease (which is my new favorite!). If you use cold unsalted butter, they have a little bit of a sweet taste and are great for sopapillas (sp?) and sweet fillings. Thanks so much for the recipe!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
When I first cooked these, I thought they seemed stiff for tortillas, then realized that they soften when you stack them and keep them warm with the towel. Very nice--better than store-bought and simple. The recipe also works well with whole wheat flour added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Best tortillas I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Primes Rayburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States