Tortillas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Very fast and easy to make! It was great to experience the difference of fresh tortillas with supper tonight. My husband and I both enjoyed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I follwed the recipe, but these came out hard and tasteless. I dont know what i did wrong. I wanted to make beef soft tacos and these would break when folded in half.. For now i'll keep on with the store bought ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
These did not turn out well. I followed the recipte to a tee. bummer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Excellent recipe. I have moved to Singapore and my son misses the mexican food availble in US,used to buy them from the store but the ones that u get here are not as fresh- have a long way to travel. tried this recipe they came out perfect. I used the fork in the beginning to mix the hot water and alter kneaded them with my hands.I substituted whole wheat flour + flour (50-50). they were perfect. Had no problems rolling them either..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Delhi, Delhi, India
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Delicious! I substituted 1/2 whole wheat flour for white flour and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
First, the ingredients ratio for this recipe (Tortillas I) seem way off: the suggested serving implies that 1 cup of flower is going to produce 12 golf-ball-sized hunks of dough. No way! Followed the recipe exactly, let them rest, rolled them out paper thin, cooked them until they bubbled and browned a little. Looked nice! They tasted like... raw flour. Very bland raw flour. (Seemed they could have used more shortening and salt.) They were also somewhat brittle, breaking rather than bending. Sorry, I don't mind the effort, but there's something amiss or missing here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
To be honest at first it is very difficult to roll and cook these tortillas but once you get the hang of it and let go of them not being perfect circles it's pretty simple. One big recommmendation I have is to ensure that each side of the tortilla is cooked on med-low heat for exactly a minute. Do not let it get brown at all. The only color change you should see is from the color of the dough to a pale white. This way they stay pliable and tender enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
this is the first recipe I have ever given a 1 star. They seemed dry, the dough was really tough so it was incredibly hard to roll out, and I am sweating and my arms are sore from rolling out 8 tortillas, which was the yield from half a batch. I rolled as hard as I could, and they are thin, but probably not thin enough. for all the effort, they don't even taste that good. need a bit more flavor...maybe more salt. sorry, but i won't make this one again. i will keep looking for a easier recipe. they aren't even very round. i am embarassed to show my husband, because everything i cook usually comes out great. i think i will use these in enchiladas so he can't see what they look like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
These were OK. Very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
These tasted great, but too hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Clements

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States