Tortillas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
After watching my Tex-Mex boyfriend make homemade tortillas, I was a little intimidated. There is definitely a "trick" to it but this recipe and the tips made my first effort come out great!! I may struggle to get him to make them now that he knows I can do it. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I used this recipe for my pastallio shell. I haven't been able to find one that had the right consistancy but this one worked. I will try it as a tortilla next time. I followed the directions as listed except I let it set a bit longer than instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShaunaMarker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Corinth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
These were okay, but almost the same recipe as the "Homemade Flour Tortillas" on this site - and those are MUCH easier to roll out for some reason. Those are also more flavorful. Glad I tried these, but I'm sticking with the Homemade Flour Tortillas because of ease of preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I make this weekly. I carefully measure everything and weigh my flour but it seems to turn out just a bit different depending on the humity/temp in the house. If they seem dry I just add a few more tablespoons of water and the tortillas turn out just fine. 95% of the time the recipe works out perfect as written. Our kids love these and will no longer eat the store bought ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
works pretty well. this doesn't make as many servings as it says. Make the tortillas a little bigger than "golf ball size."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda from MA CT NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
these are the best ever! my family is hooked and doesn't like the store bought ones anymore. I add about a 1/2 teaspoon of yeast and it helps make extra bubbles, have to be careful about letting the dough get cold or it doesn't roll well. I also like to use butter flavored shotening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
The recipe looks good. Only issue I had was that when I used my torilla press to make it, the tortilla keeps pulling back to a smaller size (6/7 inches to 4/5 inches).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I made these twice - the first time they were not good. The second time I halved the recipe, used 1 T softened butter, added more salt, and used about 1 cup boiling water. Let rise 15 minutes. The best tip on this board is cook only 1-2 minutes on medium low heat (my burner was at about 3.5). They did not brown up, but were cooked and stay pliable. Second batch is delicious. Also, let go of the round shape. Much easier to make then. 1/2 of this recipe yielded 12 tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
These were quite good. I need to perfect the thickness, but once I have that down, they'll be perfect! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
a bit salty for my taste but very easy to make. the fam really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States