Tortilla de Patata (Spanish Tortilla) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Fairly good recipe, but I think you should really not call it a Spanish Tortilla, as people get anal about these things! It works better with the potatoes diced and boiled first not fried (just 6oz not 6 potatoes!) 5 eggs and 1/2 cup of sour cream (no water) and also use olive oil not butter and no bacon drippings - then it is more like the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
In the region of Spain I lived in, they wouldn't be caught dead using butter, they considered it a French concept. For a more authentic (and healthy) recipe, use oil Thanks for posting, Monica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This is not anywhere near authentic. You need to encorporate the vegetables in the tortilla/"Pie" this is one of the MAGIC dishes in Spain, I have visited there a number of times buying horses and get deep into their culture--they whip this dish out "TOOTS SWEET" I have tried it a number of times(9) at home and can get close but it always lacks some flavor in comparison the great ones in spain. This is also missing Paprika which is the MOST important spice in spain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Excellent dish- we made it on the stovetop and then put it under the broiler until it was done. Reminds me of my time in Spain- delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I guess I'm rating the version of this that I made rather than this specific recipe though mine's not too far off. I combined the suggestions of reviewers plus the other recipes for this on this site. I sauteed an onion until nearly carmelized, then added one red bell & one yellow bell. Sauteed until soft then added 5 yellow/yukon potatoes, sliced. Sauteed over medium heat, stirring often but keeping covered to steam potatoes. When they were done, I added 5 beaten eggs that had a splash of milk and a handful of cheddar cheese mixed in, let it set, flipped it, and let it finish. My flipping needs work-may put it under the broiler next time. It turned out fantastic! Had wonderful flavor, a nice light supper with fruit and we will make it often! Thanks for the recipe and all the suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Although this can taste good is not really a Spanish Tortilla, keep it simple and will taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bacau, Bacau, Romania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I made this with my Kindergarten "Cooking Around the World" class and it was a big hit! Very easy to make and delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess of her Castle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
The way I make this dish, I give it 5 stars, but the way this recipe is written, only 4. The good thing about Tortilla de Patata is that there are as many different ingredient varieties as you like. You can put in whatever you please. It is good for breakfast, lunch or supper. Sometimes I put a package of thawed chopped broccoli in mine, or I caramalize some onions to serve on top. I have added crumbled cooked sausage or bacon. After I remove it from the oven and flip it onto the serving plate, I put a layer of shredded cheese (usually cheddar, but pepperjack would be good or whatever you like) on the top and allow it to melt. I like to serve it with a simple salad and some crusty bread. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz in Marlin, TX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Marlin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
I find that this recipe has too many ingredients. The typical spanish tortilla only consists of potatoes, onion, garlic and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Overall I feel this spanish tortilla contained all the flare of what an authentic "patata" demands: a delicious dichotomy of chrispy outershell and soft center. Recommendations: I suggest this spanish delicacy be enjoyed along with a toasted bagget with a spoonful of mayonnaise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States