Tortilla and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Very very good soup.I had to tweak the recipe because our grocery stores in Canada don't stock ranch style beans so I made it from scratch from a recipe online and thickened the soup with 1.5 Tbsp cornstarch after simmering soup for 1.5 hrs. I also used taco seasoning I from this site and ranch dressing mix from another site because I don't buy packets anymore. I replaced kidney and hominy beans with scarlet runner beans from my garden and those worked out well. Served with roasted garlic and black bean tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was an excellent soup, the whole family loved it and they even had second helpings! My husband is the main cook in our house so I thought I would treat him to a night off. He was surprised at how good this was. Thank you for a great recipe that made my family a happy and full bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
one of the best soups I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
great with chicken ground beef and shedded beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Delicious - added spicy carrot/jalapeno mixture, chicken broth, and half a red and half a yellow bell pepper. Didn't have ranch mix, so I added garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper, dill and parsley. Cooked longer than 30 minutes after adding everything together. Total prep time 1.5 hours. Funny that its called Tortilla soup..since there are no tortillas in the recipe...I feel the writer was a bit lazy with this recipe...I plan to add tortilla chips to mine when eating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This soup was really good. Changed it up with a few things. Only made 1/2 recipe since it was only two of us. Used whole can of pintos and black beans since we don't like kidney beans and didn't have ranch-style beans. Used Mexican style tomatoes with jalapenos and used extra hominy. Topped with shredded cheddar cheese, diced avadado and topped with crushed tortilla chips. Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shingle Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I absolutely LOVE this recipe. I did however make a few changes. I added boullion cubes, salt pepper, garlic powder, and tony chachere to the water. I used corn instead of hominy, and I left out the kidney beans. I served it with a side of tortilla chips and topped with sliced avacado, shredded cheese and sour cream. I had so much left over I took it to work and fed 8 full grown men!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
As written - the soup is pretty good! I would make some changes just based on my personal preferences. It does have a spicy little kick too! A little sour cream would reduce that heat level for you though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
easy and super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was good, but I doubt I will make it again because I have so many other bean soup recipes that are better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States