Tortilla and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2000
This is a really tastey soup. The only thing I did differently was add a can of chicken broth and cooked it longer. We served it with flour tortillas with a little melted cheese rolled up for dunking in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
This is the best soup I have had in a very long time! I did add 2 extra cups water while cooking chicken. Then topped it with shredded chedder, sour cream and crushed tortilla chips. Thank you Marggie! My husband thanks you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
If you are a mexican fan this soup is for you. Instead of 4 chicken breasts I used 6. But this was a hit w/ in-laws and other family members. I've been passing this out as fast as I can!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This is absolutely delicious. I made a couple tweaks - used hot turkey sausage instead of chicken, substituted chicken broth for water, and corn for hominy. It was very quick to make. I saved time by cutting the sausage into pieces before cooking in broth, and then followed instructions from there. Very tasty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
WOW! This is the best Chicken totilla soup, I mean it. You got to give it a try. Everybody in my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOTTAHESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This soup is quite tasty. I used mexi-corn because I don't care for hominy and I didn't have any ranch seasoning so I used onion powder, garlic powder and other spices that are used in ranch seasoning. My daugter loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
Loved this soup! Don't know if anyone else noticed, but somebody forgot to add the chiles to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Texasfairbaker
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This is fantastic and its low-cal!!!!!The only thing is I added only one can of tomatoes and chilies. Will make again.Oh!! yeah I added a little more water to it. I also used chicken strips and a bouillon cube to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasfairbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
I changed this recipe quite a bit to suit what I had on hand. Used pinto and kidney beans, halved the recipe, used ranch dressing instead of the packet, used salsa instead of the canned tomatoes and peppers and skipped the hominy. Also, I pureed about half the soup before adding the shedded chicken. It turned out excellent! Served it with grated cheese and tortilla chips. Made a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
pretty dang good...used chicken broth instead of water though, and i made my own kind of ranch-style beans by adding a bell pepper and extra onions and seasonings and pinto beans. Pretty dang good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States