Tortilla and Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This soup was amazing. I followed all the directions as is, except I put it in a crock pot instead of heating it on the stove. I put the crock pot on low for 5-6 hours and it was great for dinner!!!! I made cornbread with it and it made a great meal. It also made a lot of leftovers so I put it in the freezer to eat later on. A week or so later, I thawed some to eat for lunch and it was still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopewell, Virginia, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Great soup. Very easy to make. I'm trying to lose weight after having a baby and this is one of the tastiest lowfat soups I've found. Filling and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Perfection. This is a great and simple soup. You may want to change up the recipe but it certainly isn't necessary. This is gourmet at its easiest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was a very good, easy and healthy recipe. I was surprised it had so much flavor. I modified the recipe a bit though. I made a half portion so I used 3 cups of water and boiled 2 chicken breasts in there and then shredded the chicken. I used two cans of beans (pinto and great northern beans) and I pureed a few of the beans and a little of the diced tomatoes to try to give a little more thickness and flavor to the broth. Overall, it was really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
The flavor is perfect!!! My husband and I ate this soup with garlic bread, and it was so good! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
very good- lots of flavor and sooo easy to make. I added an extra two cups of water to the chicken, and then also added a small can of tomato sauce to the finished soup to thicken it a little and to cut the salt and spicy flavor a bit. My husband and I like REALLY spicy food and this was hotter than expected from looking at the recipe. I also used my potato masher a little at the end to smash some of the beans to thicken the soup instead of having it 'brothy' with beans. Served it with warm tortillas and some cheese and sour cream. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra Thomlinson Gomlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This soup is quite tasty. I used mexi-corn because I don't care for hominy and I didn't have any ranch seasoning so I used onion powder, garlic powder and other spices that are used in ranch seasoning. My daugter loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Excellent and easy!!! This recipe is great just like it is. I added a little extra water and used about 1.5 packets of taco mix. But this recipe is tasty just like it is. Rotel tomatos and chiles make it spicy too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This recipe was both extremely easy and flavorful. I added 3/4 of a jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped, to give it a little more kick. I could not find ranch style beans at my local grocery store so I used 2 cans of pinto beans and it turned out fine. I will definately be making this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This was delicious! I was looking for some healthier recipes for my husband and he loved this!!! The only things I did differently were I used half water & half chicken broth, mexicorn instead of hominy, and chili beans instead of ranch style (not sure what ranch style are). My girls also loved it topped with some shredded cheese and sour cream. This will definately be in our menu rotation from now on. It makes plenty for leftovers too, which makes my life easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States