Tortilla Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
For an extra kick, I reduced milk by 1/2 cup and added a can of rotfl. I also added sliced black olives. Have already made it a second time. Good recipe and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Not a bad recipe. I added onions and used red pepper flakes instead of chiles because it was what I had...and used ground turkey instead of beef. In the future I will add salsa/enchilada sauce, corn and olives. I think it would also be good to use chicken slices instead of ground beef/turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I don't like canned soups so I substituted with reduced fat sour cream mixed with a little minced jalapeño and cumin. I also used a little more cheese. I stacked mine in a springform pan and garnished the top with slivers of fresh jalapeño. It looked amazing before we dove into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
It tasted better the next day reheated but my brood hated this :( I didnt think it tasted that bad but it was a wash. Being frugal I saved it for lunch leftovers for me and it tasted better after being doctored with spices. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I just made this for the first time and my husband and I loved it. I didn't like the green chilie idea though so instead I used green pepper, onion, and black olives to make it more Mexican. I also used enough cheese to cover each layer. Next time my husband said I should top it off with salsa so I'll see how that adds to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RevConrad
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Was surprising excellent. The only differnce was I used groung turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RevConrad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
My 4-year-old is a Slow, Picky eater. We are constantly having to make sure she's eating her food because she gets easily sidetracked. Well, I made Tortilla Surprise tonight, and she scarfed it down - and asked for more!!! This was a wonderful dish! I did make a couple of alterations - I did not have chiles, so I left that out. In its place, for the flavor, I added a layer of enchilada sauce on top of the beans. Also, when cooking my ground turkey (healthy option), I added onion powder for an extra kick. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I did not care for this. Needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Throw in a can of enchilada sauce, olives, and chopped onions and a lot more cheddar and you have a great meal I have been making for over 20years. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States