Tortilla Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Great recipe. The entire family liked it and said it is a keeper. A good change of pace from Chili. However, after wondering what to do with the other half of a package of ground beef I decided to put in a full pound. It turned out just right for the 8 very large servings it makes. Thanks Erin for a tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I make this often, it's is a cold weather staple in our house and sometimes in warm weather too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This soup is fantastic!! The only changes I made was to use a whole pound of ground beef and I added a can of green chilis. If you wanted it hotter you could use Rotel tomatoes instead of the crushed. Will make over and over again! My whole family scarfed it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
this was a very quick and easy soup to make, I put in cheeder cheese and flour tortilla and it was great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was great! And so easy. I used cooked cubed chicken instead of beef, and I used tortilla chips instead of real tortillas and 3 cheese mexican cheese instead of the cheddar. The pot was empty by the end of the night! This is not a broth like soup but more of a rich creamy sauce. Served with avocado and chopped cilantro. This was great thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Fernando, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
This one will get rave reviews from all ages. It's a hardy soup that my family found addicting! I used flour tortillas in place of chips. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
love this recipe!! i used whole corn instead of cream corn. and I'm going to try with chicken too. but the base and spice level was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Great recipe! I really enjoyed it although I must admit I didn't follow it exactly. First, I used one can of low sodium/low fat chicken broth plus three cubes (plus water) of boullion. Second, I used fresh tomatoes I had quartered and frozen plus one small can tomato sauce. I only had one can corn and I used ground turkey. The spices I kept the same which is the important part. Lastly, I had no cornstarch so thickening the soup was not done and I used corn tortilla chips since that's all that I had. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Awesome on a cold day!! I added a full pound of ground beef and whole corn instead of creamed corn. I also spiced it up with some Louisiana hot sauce. It was well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Excellent base. I used 1 lb. beef, 3 cloves garlic cooked with 1/2 chopped onion and beef. I used 2 cans tomato quick pulsed in blender. I used 1 can creamed corn and 1 can regular corn. You can add more spices as needed. I served it with pepper jack cheese and pizza peppers on the side to use as desired. I also doubled the tortillas, dicing two for the soup and toasting the others to put on the bottom of the bowl before adding the soup. Excellent casual meal for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDIEGRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States