Tortilla Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This recipe is fabulous,i followed directions and added to it also,my additions 2 pounds hamburger, 1/2cup fresh cilantro,2 cloves garlic minced,2 tomato bouillon cubes,3 chicken bouillon cubes,4cupswater,3 cans creamed corn,2 tablespoons cumin,salt,pepper to taste,1 tablespoon season all,2 tablespoons chili powder,added 1/2cup salsa verde, used also 10 flour tortillas cut in strips.serves 12 or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Brookeland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This soup is fantastic!! The only changes I made was to use a whole pound of ground beef and I added a can of green chilis. If you wanted it hotter you could use Rotel tomatoes instead of the crushed. Will make over and over again! My whole family scarfed it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
This one will get rave reviews from all ages. It's a hardy soup that my family found addicting! I used flour tortillas in place of chips. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Great recipe! I really enjoyed it although I must admit I didn't follow it exactly. First, I used one can of low sodium/low fat chicken broth plus three cubes (plus water) of boullion. Second, I used fresh tomatoes I had quartered and frozen plus one small can tomato sauce. I only had one can corn and I used ground turkey. The spices I kept the same which is the important part. Lastly, I had no cornstarch so thickening the soup was not done and I used corn tortilla chips since that's all that I had. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great! I've made this soup many times now and really like it compared to other recipes, even though I usually prefer chicken to beef. I live alone but made a full recipe to have for lunches this week and to freeze for future meals. This time, I made it with beef broth, doubled the meat, and only put it 1 can of corn. I also used shredded cheddar instead of American and used broken-up blue corn tortilla chips and chopped avocado as the garnishes. These garnishes really make the dish complete! Sour cream would be great too. This is a great meal as it has a good amount of spice. There isn't much of a difference when using beef stock compared to chicken stock. The first one is just more "beefy," obviously! The cream corn is a nice touch. Finally, if I were going to recommend any alterations to the recipe, I'd say to DEFINITELY double the meat. I added in just over a pound and I think anything less would have been too little. Thanks for sharing! Enjoy, everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalan L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapleau, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Great recipe. The entire family liked it and said it is a keeper. A good change of pace from Chili. However, after wondering what to do with the other half of a package of ground beef I decided to put in a full pound. It turned out just right for the 8 very large servings it makes. Thanks Erin for a tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
HUGE hit in the house! I switched the beef for chicken. I poached chicken in my favorite spicy seasonings and just shredded it up for the soup. Instead of putting the tortilla strips in the soup I just placed 2 corn tostadas in each bowl. Only 3 people in my house so I adjusted the ingredients for 4 servings and had leftovers for 2 days at work. Soup only gets better. I went a bit heavy on the cayenne, chili powder and cumin and it was delicious. Amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This recipe makes a LOT of soup! I used half crushed tomatoes & half diced tomatoes with jalapenos, and increased ground beef to 1 lb. Crushed tortilla chips over the top. I like the previous reviewer's idea of avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I cooked this in a crock pot. I used one whole pound of ground beef and added 1.5 cans of black beans and 1/2 can of whole corn. I only used 1 big box of chix broth and did not use the C of water. Used one 14oz can of tomatoes blended and two cans of rotel (one blended).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I make this often, it's is a cold weather staple in our house and sometimes in warm weather too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States