Tortilla Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This recipe makes a LOT of soup! I used half crushed tomatoes & half diced tomatoes with jalapenos, and increased ground beef to 1 lb. Crushed tortilla chips over the top. I like the previous reviewer's idea of avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was great! And so easy. I used cooked cubed chicken instead of beef, and I used tortilla chips instead of real tortillas and 3 cheese mexican cheese instead of the cheddar. The pot was empty by the end of the night! This is not a broth like soup but more of a rich creamy sauce. Served with avocado and chopped cilantro. This was great thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Fernando, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This recipe is fabulous,i followed directions and added to it also,my additions 2 pounds hamburger, 1/2cup fresh cilantro,2 cloves garlic minced,2 tomato bouillon cubes,3 chicken bouillon cubes,4cupswater,3 cans creamed corn,2 tablespoons cumin,salt,pepper to taste,1 tablespoon season all,2 tablespoons chili powder,added 1/2cup salsa verde, used also 10 flour tortillas cut in strips.serves 12 or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Brookeland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Great recipe! I really enjoyed it although I must admit I didn't follow it exactly. First, I used one can of low sodium/low fat chicken broth plus three cubes (plus water) of boullion. Second, I used fresh tomatoes I had quartered and frozen plus one small can tomato sauce. I only had one can corn and I used ground turkey. The spices I kept the same which is the important part. Lastly, I had no cornstarch so thickening the soup was not done and I used corn tortilla chips since that's all that I had. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This soup is fantastic!! The only changes I made was to use a whole pound of ground beef and I added a can of green chilis. If you wanted it hotter you could use Rotel tomatoes instead of the crushed. Will make over and over again! My whole family scarfed it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Very easy and tasty! I used whole wheat flour tortillas. Next time I will use a whole pound of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Great recipe. The entire family liked it and said it is a keeper. A good change of pace from Chili. However, after wondering what to do with the other half of a package of ground beef I decided to put in a full pound. It turned out just right for the 8 very large servings it makes. Thanks Erin for a tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
This one will get rave reviews from all ages. It's a hardy soup that my family found addicting! I used flour tortillas in place of chips. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
this was a very quick and easy soup to make, I put in cheeder cheese and flour tortilla and it was great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States