Tortilla Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
love this recipe!! i used whole corn instead of cream corn. and I'm going to try with chicken too. but the base and spice level was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Excellent base. I used 1 lb. beef, 3 cloves garlic cooked with 1/2 chopped onion and beef. I used 2 cans tomato quick pulsed in blender. I used 1 can creamed corn and 1 can regular corn. You can add more spices as needed. I served it with pepper jack cheese and pizza peppers on the side to use as desired. I also doubled the tortillas, dicing two for the soup and toasting the others to put on the bottom of the bowl before adding the soup. Excellent casual meal for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDIEGRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
You can always add more tortillas if you want. Everybody here loves it, even the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EARLMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I cooked this in a crock pot. I used one whole pound of ground beef and added 1.5 cans of black beans and 1/2 can of whole corn. I only used 1 big box of chix broth and did not use the C of water. Used one 14oz can of tomatoes blended and two cans of rotel (one blended).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
HUGE hit in the house! I switched the beef for chicken. I poached chicken in my favorite spicy seasonings and just shredded it up for the soup. Instead of putting the tortilla strips in the soup I just placed 2 corn tostadas in each bowl. Only 3 people in my house so I adjusted the ingredients for 4 servings and had leftovers for 2 days at work. Soup only gets better. I went a bit heavy on the cayenne, chili powder and cumin and it was delicious. Amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Awesome on a cold day!! I added a full pound of ground beef and whole corn instead of creamed corn. I also spiced it up with some Louisiana hot sauce. It was well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
The flavor was good! I threw in some rice; which helped thicken it up. We roll up the tortillas and dip them in instead of cutting them into strips. I'll save this recipe and next time I'll add black beans instead (for something different).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great! I've made this soup many times now and really like it compared to other recipes, even though I usually prefer chicken to beef. I live alone but made a full recipe to have for lunches this week and to freeze for future meals. This time, I made it with beef broth, doubled the meat, and only put it 1 can of corn. I also used shredded cheddar instead of American and used broken-up blue corn tortilla chips and chopped avocado as the garnishes. These garnishes really make the dish complete! Sour cream would be great too. This is a great meal as it has a good amount of spice. There isn't much of a difference when using beef stock compared to chicken stock. The first one is just more "beefy," obviously! The cream corn is a nice touch. Finally, if I were going to recommend any alterations to the recipe, I'd say to DEFINITELY double the meat. I added in just over a pound and I think anything less would have been too little. Thanks for sharing! Enjoy, everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalan L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapleau, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I make this often, it's is a cold weather staple in our house and sometimes in warm weather too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I read the reviews and saw someone else had used wheat tortillas. So that's what I did and it wasn't good at all!! So I fished out the tortilla strips and put in corn tortilla chips instead. It is much better now and was a quick save or I'd have thrown it all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States