Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by HaleyMarie
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This is a staple soup in our family. It's easy to make and delicious! If I want to add a twist I will add black beans and homoney. I always skip the corn. Adding avocados is a must! It makes a very hardy yummy addition. To save time I use a rotisserie chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HaleyMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julian R Dunn
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. The soup is good (too spicy for my child), but it either calls for too much chicken or too little soup juice. The suggestion to add a 10 oz can of tomato soup seems weird. Wouldn't that change the flavor?? Either way it should have been added to the original recipe. I will try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julian R Dunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This is exactly the recipe I was looking for. VERY authentic and delicious. I used a rotisserie chicken and added a can of canned whole tomatoes with the sauce and it made it perfect. Garnish with cheese, tortilla chips and avocado. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katy
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Great, and easy recipe. I would just use less cilantro. And a little less onion. It's great served with shredded cheese and diced avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Good recipe! I did substitute a few items, I used 1 can of Rotel Mexican style diced tomatoes with lime and cilantro, I added about 3 sliced carrots, I added avocado slices, I added 3 cans of chicken broth, and I used corn tortillas. It was easy and very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scurry, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This soup is AMAZING! So easy to throw together, and everyone loved it. The only criticism I will give is that four chicken breasts is WAY too much for this recipe. I made it with two large breasts and it was a ton of chicken. I can't imagine this with four. Otherwise, it was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I've made this a couple times now with only slight differences. I sauteed the onions and garlic first in some butter, added a can of drained black beans and a package of frozen corn, and this time around I omitted the cumin because I didn't have any. Everyone loved it! Almost the entire pot of soup was gone! There are a lot of recipes for this type of soup on here, but this one is my go-to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Everyone loves this soup when I make it! I used pre cooked diced frozen chicken to speed things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I would give this soup 10 stars if I could. The flavor is wonderful, especially if you like cilantro. I added a can of corn with red and green bell peppers. It shows corn in the pic but not on the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Great soup, I made a few modifications. This time I used leftover chicken (from whole roast chicken), the first time i used 2 cans of canned chicken. I also added frozen corn the last 15 minutes, and subbed corn tortillas for the wheat ones. Garnished with shredded pepper-jack cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States