Tortilla Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by HaleyMarie
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This is a staple soup in our family. It's easy to make and delicious! If I want to add a twist I will add black beans and homoney. I always skip the corn. Adding avocados is a must! It makes a very hardy yummy addition. To save time I use a rotisserie chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HaleyMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by julianrdunn
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. The soup is good (too spicy for my child), but it either calls for too much chicken or too little soup juice. The suggestion to add a 10 oz can of tomato soup seems weird. Wouldn't that change the flavor?? Either way it should have been added to the original recipe. I will try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julianrdunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This is exactly the recipe I was looking for. VERY authentic and delicious. I used a rotisserie chicken and added a can of canned whole tomatoes with the sauce and it made it perfect. Garnish with cheese, tortilla chips and avocado. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katy
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Great, and easy recipe. I would just use less cilantro. And a little less onion. It's great served with shredded cheese and diced avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Good recipe! I did substitute a few items, I used 1 can of Rotel Mexican style diced tomatoes with lime and cilantro, I added about 3 sliced carrots, I added avocado slices, I added 3 cans of chicken broth, and I used corn tortillas. It was easy and very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scurry, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This soup is AMAZING! So easy to throw together, and everyone loved it. The only criticism I will give is that four chicken breasts is WAY too much for this recipe. I made it with two large breasts and it was a ton of chicken. I can't imagine this with four. Otherwise, it was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I've made this a couple times now with only slight differences. I sauteed the onions and garlic first in some butter, added a can of drained black beans and a package of frozen corn, and this time around I omitted the cumin because I didn't have any. Everyone loved it! Almost the entire pot of soup was gone! There are a lot of recipes for this type of soup on here, but this one is my go-to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Everyone loves this soup when I make it! I used pre cooked diced frozen chicken to speed things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I would give this soup 10 stars if I could. The flavor is wonderful, especially if you like cilantro. I added a can of corn with red and green bell peppers. It shows corn in the pic but not on the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Great soup, I made a few modifications. This time I used leftover chicken (from whole roast chicken), the first time i used 2 cans of canned chicken. I also added frozen corn the last 15 minutes, and subbed corn tortillas for the wheat ones. Garnished with shredded pepper-jack cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States