Tortilla Rollups III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Didn't care much for these. They got mushy early on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Made these several times for pot luck dinners and they have always been a hit. Never have any left to bring home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
As written, a bit bland, but an excellent base recipe upon which to base your own custom roll-ups. You will want to add any or all of the following, as befits your taste and what's in your cupboard: small can chopped olives, 2-4 thinly sliced green onions, small can diced green chilies (mild or hot, you choose), diced jalapenos, 2 tsp. ranch dressing mix (not too much or it will be too salty), 1/2 c to 1 1/2 c shredded sharp cheddar cheese, swap sour cream for some of the salsa or simply reduce the salsa by half or more to cut down on the soggy factor. Important to make the rollups several hours ahead of time, and before slicing them allow them to chill in the refrigerator to firm them up and allow the flavors to marry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I was going to rate these 3 stars, because they seemed like they were going to be pretty plain, so made a few changes and they turned out to be a great hit. To the cream cheese mixture, I added one can of spicy refried beans and a package of taco seasoning. It still seemed plain, so I added more garlic, chili and onion powders and about 1/4 tsp. of ground cumin (this could have been accomplished without the taco seasoning, using greater quantities of the above spices). After spreading the tortillas, I sprinkled some 4-cheese Mexican blend shredded cheese on them before rolling up. It's a good idea to leave about 1-1/2" of one end of the tortilla without the spread, as it oozes out when you roll them up. When it came time to serve 'em, I mixed 1/2 jar of salsa with 1/2 c. ranch dressing in one bowl and put the remaining salsa in another bowl. This recipe made a lot of little (1") bite-sized snackers, but they kept everyone gathered around the serving tray until they were gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
To make this tastey appy even better, I added a layer of refried beans. YUM and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
These are a good, meatless version of the versatile tortilla roll-up. I had to make a few modifications based on what I had on hand. I substituted a tablespoon of taco seasoning mix for the ranch dressing mix and added chopped black olives. I added only enough sour cream to make the cream cheese easily spreadable, probably 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
I had this over the weekend, but with green onions mixed in. It was delicious, and the first thing gone at the Easter party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMMOELLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
This was OK, but did find to be a little bland. I am going to make this again with 8 oz. cream cheese, 8 oz. shredded sharp cheddar, more green chili peppers, and sprinkle with garlic salt. Sounds good to me! Thanks Paige!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
I have made this recipe a dozen times myself with a few changes and tips to offer you: Instead of the chilies, I have used black olives or cold cuts or green peppers. I also add a little ranch dressing to the mix for added flavour. I make sure to wrap them in plastic wrap and chill them before slicing, they stay in shape longer this way. They are a hit every time and look so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Yuck! I really don't think canned green chiles and cream cheese go together at all. There were hard seeds and slippery skins that did not make for a great mouth-feel. These were bland and sad and dipping in salsa did not make them any better. I'm going to delete this recipe as soon as I'm done reviewing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States