Tortilla Espanola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
yummy.ideal for breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
In Spain we don't usually add chorizo or black pepper, but I'm sure it will please many a palate all over the world. Authentic Serving Suggestion: Once the tortilla is cooled to room temperature cut it into 1 inch squares and let guests spear them with toothpicks. Olé
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I don't eat chorizo but my husband said it was good. In our house things are just OK or they are a keeper and he said this was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I used Ole Ida's cubed hashbrowns O'Brian style (seasoned with red and green bell peppers and onions). This was much faster and great tasting! Added shredded cheese. FABULOUS! This is now one of my favorite recipes. At first I thought that the potatoes were a little weird, but they really balance the flavor of the spicy chorizo. This is a great way to impress people with your broad scope of Mexican cuisine. It's like thinking outside the box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is a great recipe. Very easy and fast and pleasing to the eye, too (my kids thought it looked like pizza)! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Added more oil to fry the potatoes in but everything else I followed per the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I give this recipe 4 points because I think it's using too much potatoes. I love the idea of frying the potatoes more than boiling. Don't think you have to deepfrying them. Use enough oil to make them look shiny in the pan. Use mid to hing temperature and lower it when potatoes are golden. Add amounts of onions, and fry till they look clear and starting to burn a little. They should be crispy on the outside and soft in the inside. Lower your temperature when pouring the eggs. A burned tortilla doesn't have a good flavor. Never over cook it. Let it slowly love the pan and remove it right before it's completely done. The warmness remaining will do the trick of a cooked but still tender tortilla. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICHINGA2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Living In: New Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I haven't made the recipe but I have a helpful shortcut for the potatoes. If you don't want to fry them in a bunch of oil, you can prebake them till they're softened but still some what firm. Then fry them in less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amycooks4family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taft, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This turned out to be quite flavorful, but I wasn't able to prepare it the way the instructions said. I thought that the amounts seemed a little off: 4 potatoes and one onion seemed like a lot for 5 eggs. It was certainly too much for my nonstick pans. So, once I cooked the potatoes and onions and combined them with the eggs, I put it in the oven on 350 for 20 minutes. It turned out really good! I will probably use only 1/2 an onion the next time I make this, but that may be more of a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
By making some slight changes this can turn out to be a great recipe. I used 6 eggs instead of 5 and 1/2 cup of olive oil instead of 3 tablespoons. Also I separated the sausage from the onions and potatoes and strained the latter before mixing them with the eggs and sausage. It turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States