Tortilla Espanola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
In Spain we don't usually add chorizo or black pepper, but I'm sure it will please many a palate all over the world. Authentic Serving Suggestion: Once the tortilla is cooled to room temperature cut it into 1 inch squares and let guests spear them with toothpicks. Olé
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This was the first time I cooked tortilla espanola. It did not come very close to what I've seen and eaten in Spain, but I think that was my error and I plan on trying again. It certainly was good, if not gourmet. When I do try this again I will: 1. Make sure the potatoes don't stick to the pan when I brown them. Otherwise, they will spoil the "flip" process. 2. Try boiling the potatoes a bit first to speed the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
An authentic tortilla recipe, with one exception. Tortilla espanola as it would be in Madrid is only made with potato and onion. I was glad to find this recipe true to form, having lived in Spain 3 months. Thanks Ryan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I don't eat chorizo but my husband said it was good. In our house things are just OK or they are a keeper and he said this was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Yummy! Almost like what I ate in Spain...I need to alter the amount of potatos and olive oil, but otherwise it was a sucess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Its heart is in the right place, and had a lot of potential. However, the proportions are completely off. Even after doubling the oil and halving the potatoes and sausage, there was no way it was going to go together correctly. Made for a nice plate of sausage and potatoes with a side of scrambled eggs, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
yummy.ideal for breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I am a Spaniard that has been living in the States for 6 and a half years. I have made tortilla espanola many times and for many people, and never with the amounts indicated in this recipe.If you want to make this delicious dish, you will have to almost fill a frying pan with oil and boil the potatoes while you work them with a wooden spoon. Three tablespoon won't do anything for you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lorena
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
As other reviewer said, when you're frying the potatoes it is very important to make sure that they're partially covered with oil, it is a must!!! This is an essential part of the process, if you want a moist and tender tortilla (as it is supposed to be). Don't worry if your potatoes go a little bit mushy and stick together, in the end you're gonna mix them with eggs and fry the whole thing.... I can assure you will not notice if the potatoes were stuck or not before. The amount of eggs depends on their size, you have to add enough eggs (liquids) to dip the potatoes (sometimes, when i'm out of eggs, and don't have enough of them to cover the potatoes, i add a dash of milk and it turns out even moister). By the way, it tastes really good if you make it just from potatoes, onions and green pepper!!! It is worth a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I used Ole Ida's cubed hashbrowns O'Brian style (seasoned with red and green bell peppers and onions). This was much faster and great tasting! Added shredded cheese. FABULOUS! This is now one of my favorite recipes. At first I thought that the potatoes were a little weird, but they really balance the flavor of the spicy chorizo. This is a great way to impress people with your broad scope of Mexican cuisine. It's like thinking outside the box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States