Tortilla Espanola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is an excellent breakfast. It is tasty, healthy, and filling. Also, it tastes great as a leftover warmed up in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This is quite tasty. I did add garlic and a little diced pancetta that needed to be used up. I also didn't remove my cooked potatoes and onions to another dish to mix with the eggs; instead I poured the egg mixture right into the skillet, then lifted and tilted to get the egg smoothed around evenly. I just didn't see the point in dirtying up another bowl :) The instructions are partly missing a step: Once the eggs are in the skillet, you must cook it til the eggs are soft-set on the stovetop before finishing it off in the oven. Or just plan to bake it longer in the oven :) Thank you for the recipe, I think that with a heavy dose of garlic this would be 5-star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Very good. The smoked paprika gives it good flavor. I also like a southewestern variation of this dish containing a clove of garlic, chopped red pepper, 1 ear corn kernels, and cilantro instead of parsley. This is a great base recipe that you can change to your family's taste--or use whatever odds and ends you have in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Seeley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Very good recipe. To make it easier, I boiled the potatoes the day before and followed the recipe as written. However, at the bottom it states to bake in the oven for 5 minutes. At the top it states 25 minutes which is much better. I still took it out of the oven,flipped it on a plate and returned it to the skillet for a few more minutes. My husband is from Spain and loves this dish but the traditional way uses more oil and takes longer so thanks; I'll make it more often now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Great recipe, my dad used to eat this all the time as a child and raves when I make it for him. I also used to work in a tapas restaurant and the recipe is very similar. I do not personally use parsely but instead add green onions on top before baking it. Also try adding spicy chorizo which totally elevates the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sactown_Baker

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was just fabuloso! I did not change a thing in this recipe and it turned out amazing! I served this as one of the items on my Xmas brunch table and it was very well received. Will definitely be making this again and again! :) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I made this exactly as directed. It tasted fantastic. Not quite enough eggs as I remember this dish having in Spain, but very close. The bake time is definitely 25 minutes (not 5). I had a lot of trouble with the potatoes sticking to my skillet, which is unusual; next time I will transfer the mix to a pie dish to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Solipsis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I halved the recipe because I am not a huge fan of eggs, plus I'm single. But I wanted to try a Spanish recipe because I'm learning the language and wanted to connect to the culture. To my surprise, it came out great, and the taste of eggs didn't overpower me. I did make a few adjustments....I used red potatoes instead (which I believe cook faster), and I used Old Bay seasoning) (my favorite in place of the smoked paprika, salt, and pepper. I used a small white onion instead of a sweet one, and I used dill instead of parsley. Finally, I made sure that the bottom of the eggs were brown before putting it in the oven for about 6 minutes. Excelente!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
very tasty and easy. thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This is a good, hearty breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States