Tortilla Chip Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
I made this for my husband and son. They loved it. I make a mexican chicken that is very similar to this which they love as well. I'll definitely be making this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This is "King Ranch Casserole"; a Texas favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Excellent and very easy casserole! I browned some lean beef with an onion and spread that over the chips instead of the chicken and it was great. I'll be making this again for future potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Very much like King Ranch Chicken (Biggest ranch in Texas). King Ranch is better, but this is so much easier to make. I just threw the chips in the bottom, layered leftover chopped turkey that I had browned a little in garlic, olive oil, chili powder. I then added a thin layer of shredded casserole cheese (sharp cheddar will also work) Spread the soup mixture ( I also used salsa instead of the tomatoes and chile peppers). Cooked all for 30 min. then topped with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
the only thing i did that wasnt stated here was drain the rotel, and boild the chicken breasts and shred them up a bit before layering it all. i also used colby jack shredded cheese, this made it not soggy and more evenly flavored bites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
I thought this was really good as well.. I have similiar recipes to this using beef. Taste like a beef mexican casserole..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
GREAT recipe! Used plain tortilla chips and ground hamburger meat instead of chicken. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2000
Instead of shredding the cheese food, you should slice it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Made this for dinner tonight. Perfect for the crumbs at the bottom of our chip bags. Use blue and white corn tortilla chips. Drained the can of rotel so it wasn't as runny as others said. Great quick meal, just wish I hadn't eaten so much of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Emily
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This recipe was great! As another Texan reviewer mentioned, it is almost identical to King Ranch casserole, if you make it with plain corn tortilla chips, which is what I had on hand. I also made a few other modifications; Added about 1.5 cups of coursely chopped white onion (wish I hadnt, red or green would have been better). I poached the chicken in a T of olive oil, 4 small cloves of garlic, salt, pepper and mesquite seasoning, adding about half a can of tomatoes with green chile and juice. The flavor from that was good. I followed another reviewer's suggestion of slicing the processed cheese and I think I won't do that again - shredding would have gotten a more even consistency. I added a layer of finely crushed ships over that and topped it with shredded mixed cheese (monterrey jack and colby) - this made a great topping. Topped it with black pepper and parsley. My boyfriend had 3 servings - he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Emily
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States