Tortilla Chip Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Emily
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This recipe was great! As another Texan reviewer mentioned, it is almost identical to King Ranch casserole, if you make it with plain corn tortilla chips, which is what I had on hand. I also made a few other modifications; Added about 1.5 cups of coursely chopped white onion (wish I hadnt, red or green would have been better). I poached the chicken in a T of olive oil, 4 small cloves of garlic, salt, pepper and mesquite seasoning, adding about half a can of tomatoes with green chile and juice. The flavor from that was good. I followed another reviewer's suggestion of slicing the processed cheese and I think I won't do that again - shredding would have gotten a more even consistency. I added a layer of finely crushed ships over that and topped it with shredded mixed cheese (monterrey jack and colby) - this made a great topping. Topped it with black pepper and parsley. My boyfriend had 3 servings - he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Emily
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2000
I used salsa instead of the can of tomatoes and chili's, I also substituted lime tortilla chips. It tasted exactially like "Applebee's" tequilla lime chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2000
This was okay. I didn't care for all the soup. Maybe a big jar of salsa instead for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
I thought this was really good as well.. I have similiar recipes to this using beef. Taste like a beef mexican casserole..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2000
Instead of shredding the cheese food, you should slice it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I did not like it as much as my family did, I prefer my chips crunchy. Could use the topping as a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Made this for dinner tonight. Perfect for the crumbs at the bottom of our chip bags. Use blue and white corn tortilla chips. Drained the can of rotel so it wasn't as runny as others said. Great quick meal, just wish I hadn't eaten so much of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
my boyfriend really liked the flavor of this dish. I used tomatoes with jalepenos in this version of the recipe and I flavored the chicken with chicken spices and parmesean cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
I made this for my husband and son. They loved it. I make a mexican chicken that is very similar to this which they love as well. I'll definitely be making this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2000
My kids are hard to please and they really liked it, Laurie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States