Tortilla Chicken Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
Better than southern homeade veggie soup fresh from the garden! I used both red bell pepper and carrots, extra spices (especially cumin), and substituted potatoes for rice. We can't stop eating it and it made plenty to share. MANY thanks to the submitter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I made this soup 2 days ago and it is no more it was awesome. I tripled the recipe added a teaspoon of cinnamon for warmth omitted the rice and my family loved it. I could eat this almost everyday... I have for the last two days. I used thighs instead of breast and instead of water I used chicken stock. It was gggggrrrreat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Awesome soup! This soup turned out SO well! You can def. add any veggies you want. I didn't use tortillas, to keep it healthier and it's still amazing. I would suggest, however, to season your chicken/stock with salt and pepper while it's cooking. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
This is a very hearty soup. Used Tortilla Soup II as a base and went from there. I added more canned diced tomatoes and a 32-ounce bag of Fiesta Blend veggies (corn, onion, black beans, peppers) so I didn't include the rice. Wasn't needed because this was so think, more like a stew. Increased the amount of cumin and used frozen diced onions as a timesaver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was a fantastic soup that you can really tailor to your likes. I made a couple of minor changes to this to be able to freeze this. I didn't add the cilantro simply because I forgot to. I skipped the green onion and used regular onion instead. We really enjoyed this soup and look forward to eating this for lunch tomorrow and freezing the remainder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I used only one can of tomatoes and we added lime juice at the table. Put in a couple of mild green peppers too. Excellent flavor, beautiful color, and lots of it--perfect for company or for freezing leftovers. Great way to get rid of stale tortilla chips too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKING66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Very good; broth was just a little plain, however. Next time I'll use only one can tomatoes and less cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zombified

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
The soup looked and tasted beautiful! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This recipe is a regular in my house. I've never tried another tortilla soup recipe and probably never will because this was the first I tried and it is great. I add a little more cumin and pepper to give it the kick we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2000
This is so good!Served with cheese is the best !THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States