Tortilla Chicken Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gladys Garcia
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I made this soup last night and added a couple more ingredients, but it still came out delicious. I added a California chili, green peppers, kidney beans, and half a Serrano pepper. it was perfectly spicy. I didn't take a pic of the finished product, but here are a few of the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gladys Garcia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is SOOOOO GOOD. Stop looking!! Make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Wow! delicious and easy to prepare. I used four split breasts with ribs and boiled for 45 min when I shredded them later they were perfect. I added carrots and frozen corn, along with a can of black beans with jalapeños. Loads of dried cilantro and cumin, along with some ancho chili seasoning I had in the pantry. Served with corn bread and it was a big hit. Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkthecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
We thought this was great! Per other reviews and because this was all I had on hand, I used 1 can of Rotel tomatoes and 1 can tomato sauce. The recipe doesn't state when to add the red pepper, but I finely chopped it and added it where it states white pepper. A can of black bean or two would be great. You could easily omit the rice. We finished it off with some chips, avocado and a squeeze of lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
WE LOVED THIS!! However, we halved the recipe and it still made enough for 2 people to eat for a week. We added chili powder and added more cayenne pepper than it asked for and it still wasn't very spicy. Next time may try Hunt's Fire Roasted Tomatos. But we used Trader Joe's Fire roasted corn and it gave it so much more flavor. Also used 1/2 can Goya black beans,and substituted black pepper for white pepper. Topped with crushed tortilla chips and 4 Mexican cheese (shredded) Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Lack of flavor. It was okay but needed more of everything or a quart less water. How much cilantro is 2 bunches?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was the first soup recipe I ever tried and it was delicious even with a few changes. I did half the servings and didn't use a whole chicken. Instead I just boiled 1 lb of chicken breast. For most of the spices however, I kept the quantities as written. I used half water and half chicken broth (which I think I will cut down the amount of chicken broth and increase the water because it was a little salty). I added a little bit of taco seasoning because it's mostly cumin anyway along with the cumin. I didn't add celery, white pepper or peppers and it still tasted delicious. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This soup tasted very good. I only used one bunch of cilantro and I think it was plenty. I also didn't have any green onions, so I just left them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Good soup, used yellow rice was the only change, will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was awesome soup!! I started with chicken legs, onion and garlic to make the broth and added a bunch of extra veggies- carrots, peppers and cabbage. Following other reviews I added more cumin and sprinkled a little extra in the bowl for serving. I don't have access to cilantro (which I LOVE!!) but this soup was well flavored without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States