Tortilla Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
I don't know about this one folks. I tried as is (without the suggested breakfast sausage) and did not like. The tortillas got soggy and although it smelled good, it tasted so mushy that it was hard to enjoy (and I baked it for 65 minutes). I would highly recommend to those who try this to please add the crumbled sausage. As for me, I MIGHT try this again WITH the meat and try it with flour tortillas. Otherwise, would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This was a great recipe. Made it for a brunch at my house with my girlfriends and they loved it. I added 1/2 lb. of sausage - could have added more. When I was done browning I added a packet of taco seasoning and it brought the recipe together. I also added jalpeno's as well. Made fresh guac. and sour cream and salsa afterwards. Super easy to make and virtually impossible to mess up. Next time I'll add more ingredients. This is a great starter recipe to build upon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYRE
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
Very, very good...my husband said it was the best breakfast ever. I added crembled breakfast sausage that I think was a great addition. Julie Anne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIE ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I wanted to add some volume and kick it up a notch in spice, so I browned three chorizo links with 1/2 chopped onion and added that into the layers, plus a can of niblets corn. I used reduced fat Mexican blend cheese and fat free milk, and it was delicious. Everyone at work loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
I made this for the girls at work for our TGIF brunch. It was so delicious, I got so many compliments. Thanx for the recipe. I plan to make it again for other family parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Yum - I really liked this one. I think the flavor of corn tortillas and eggs just really appeals to me. I changed this up according to what I had on hand - used 14 tortillas instead of 12, used regular onions chopped fine, and didn't include the chilies or pimentos because I used a can of Mexican tomatoes. Will be making again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I made this for my Bridge Group Brunch. It was a hit! It was so easy to prepare and it is always nice to have it ready to be baked when you get up in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Florence, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Loved this! Easy to prepare and with great flavor even using medium-hot salsa. I found organic, almost home-made corn tortillas that added a lot of yummy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScandoGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
We took this to a church breakfast this morning, and it disappeared. We did use flour tortillas and only one can of green chilis just because that's what we had on hand. It gave four stars only because it was a bit too moist. Next time I'll add a few minutes to the cooking time, and if that doesn't work, I'll use less milk. The flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I made this with flour tortillas, and the consistency was almost perfect. I froze my leftovers (it was just me eating it, otherwise there wouldn't have been any leftovers), and found out the after being re-heated, they turned out pretty dry, so I'd suggest eating the leftovers (if you have any) pretty quickly, just refrigerating, not freezing, them. This is definitely a great all-around recipe, and open to adding almost anything you want (I'm a vegetarian, so I won't be trying the sausage as an add-in).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States