Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by BLOODORFLIES
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
this soup came out a bit bland. I did add a small amount of leftover chicken. as well as some extra vegetables. Ihtink it would have been a little better if ihadused chicken stock or a couple boullion cubes. Overall it wasn't bad, and it was very simple to make, i just felt it needed something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLOODORFLIES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This soup is a homerun every time. It's so easy and good for you. I use whole wheat tortellini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie Jo Bevan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This really is a great base recipe for a tasty soup. I did however, read some of the comments on how bland it could be so I opted to sautee some diced onion (about 1/2 of a small one) and 2 cloves of garlic in olive oil before adding two boxes of vegetable broth and a chicken bouillion cube. I brought this to a slow boil and added the Italian style diced tomatoes and a couple of pinches each of dried oregano, thyme, parsley and a little red pepper flake for some heat. One this came back to a boil, I added about 6oz of fresh spinach to the broth (I didn't want to cook away the nutrients into water I'd be throwing out) and a few minutes later added some chicken and proscuitto tortellini. Just a little kosher salt and some fresh ground pepper, simmered it for about 10 minutes and then served it up with parmesean cheese and some parmesean toast. Absolutely wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Excellent! I used low sodium fat-free broth and just added lots of spices: salt, pepper, Mrs. Dash, cayenne pepper, basil, thyme, oregano, onion powder, and 1 clove garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This soup was easy to make & very flavorful after I added some spices. (My husband said I could make it every week..he's never said that in 28 years.) However, I added Mrs Dash salt free Minced Onion Medley & even more Mrs Dash salt free Italian Medley. The amounts could be added to your taste. Since I used canned broth there was plenty sodium already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This soup is wonderful and soooooooo easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I loved this and so did my boyfriend, but since I didn't follow the original recipe and instead took up some of the ideas in the reviews, I gave it only 4 stars. I started by heating a large oninon and fresh spinach in a bit of olive oil, then added the garlic and sauted for 2 more minutes. I then added a can of crushed tomatos (my boyfriend also doesn't care for tomato chunks) and the vegetable broth, as well as some dried basil, freshly ground pepper and freshly grated parmesan. I used a half bag each of frozen meat and cheese tortellini, but cooked them separately, so I could get a better idea of how much pasta I wanted in the soup (I ended up using all of what I had cooked). Right before serving, I grated additional parmesan into each bowl. Prepared this way, the dish wasn't bland at all, quick and easy to make, and except for the spinach, I had all ingredients already on hand. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
This recipe was only edible for me because I added many different seasonings and spices. It was still bland. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
I LOVE this soup! It is so easy and really turns out great. Even my picky husband likes it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
Good but not great. I used fresh baby spinach, frozen tortellini, and 3 cans of vegetable stock. I added lots of seasoning (because I buy low-sodium stock) and julienned some ham and threw it in (for my meat-loving husband). Be sure not to overcook the tortellini when boiling with the spinach, because it will split open during the simmering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States