Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
A good start, but needs work in my view. Also, inexperienced cooks may find the recipe too vague -for example, garlic is mentioned in the ingredients list but doesn't say what to do with it. I used homemade beef broth from meaty bones, tomatoes I had put up from my garden, and a good glug of red wine. I sauteed two chopped leeks and some minced garlic in olive oil until tender and added it to the soup along with some Tuscan seasoning. Hubs unfortunately does not like cheese tortellini so I used a frozen mini meat ravioli instead. I used far less spinach, maybe 2 ozs. Finally, to make the soup a little heartier, I added a can of cannellini beans. Now we're talking! With a little embellishment this was a wonderful, fulll-flavored soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Very good, but WAY too much spinach for our taste. I think I might omit it altogether next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjamison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I make this soup with two cans of chicken broth, meat tortellini, and use a can of diced tomatoes with garlic, basil and oregano----I saute a clove of garlic in olive oil first, then add the broth, cook the tortellini (frozen, not thawed) and then add then add 5 oz of frozen spinach....and the tomatoes...YUM...got from Weight Watchers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Was o.k. but instead i used v8 as a base sun-dried tomatoes, basil, rosemary, more spinach and 1 small can of tomato paste turned out way better then the recepie shown here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GHOST_BJR

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I’m so glad I stumbled across this recipe tonight. I took a lot of advice from other reviewers to come up with my own concoction. Sauté garlic and onions, add 3 cans veggie broth and 1 can chicken broth, bring to boil, add stewed tomatoes, a little bit of Italian seasoning, and a lot of red pepper flakes (we like it hot ;-). Add fresh spinach, return to boil and add cheese tortellini…we couldn’t wait long enough to let it simmer. Going back for my second serving now….wish I would have made more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUMMALUVN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This soup is great as is. Fast, tasty. The real beauty of the recipe is how versatile it is - use chicken or beef broth and add any veges to your liking. Thanks for the recipe, Midge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Very easy and inexpensive to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I really enjoyed this although my children and husband prefer to eat their Tortellini the traditional way-with sauce. They aren't terribly fond of soup, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I'm giving this 4 stars only because I made a few changes: I sauteed a small onion and garlic in 2 tsp. of olive oil then added chicken broth (instead of vegetable) and the tomatoes and brought it to a simmer. Added frozen spinach (thawed and well-drained) and then frozen chicken and mushroom tortellini. It was amazing - so simple and quick and even the kids liked it!! I LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nenmonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I really enjoyed this. I will definitely make it again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States