Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I totally agree with those who say you should review a recipe that was made as written...but...I can't stand bland food and didn't want to waste my time, so I guess I'm really reviewing HINESDLCA's revised recipe--which is delicious!!! I used a whole small chopped onion and then like her, sauted it and 2 garlic cloves in olive oil. Added the can of Italian tomatoes, 6 cups vegetable broth (didn't use chicken broth), a little oregano, basil, pinch red pepper flakes, pepper and 2 tsp. salt and about 6 oz. frozen spinach. Since it was New Year's day and we would be eating it and some other soup, etc., throughout the day, I set the torellini in a bowl on the side and let people add theirs as they ate it so it wouldn't get soggy. I had to let the tomato mixture cook down a bit to increase the flavor, but after that, it was very flavorful and rich tasting. So thanks for the base recipe that inspired the reviewer to tweak it to a great soup !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My family loves this. sometimes I add some chicken to "beef it up" a bit. My only suggestion would be to do the tortellini separate from everything else, cook to al dente - if it's the frozen kind, it doesn't need to be boiled - just simmered for about 2 or 3 minutes - and add right before serving. Otherwise it tends to get really mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
An easy meatless dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Ellen Pedroza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I have been making this for a few years but forgot to leave a review. This could not be simpler, it's a super quick meal after a busy day. I use chicken broth and frozen chopped spinach directly from a bag which allows you to use a handful or two, whatever you need. It is not frozen into a block like the 10 oz packets are. I use whatever canned tomatoes I have on hand, chopped whatever. If you wish you can add some meat, perhaps sausage or leftover chicken. I add some garlic powder and Italian seasoning too, just bumps the flavor up a notch but many people would be happy just as it is. BTW I cook it all in one pot, gently simmer the tortellini in the broth with the tomatoes. I add the frozen spinach in the last 2 or 3 minutes turn off the heat and let it sit for 5 minutes. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Needs a lot more vegetable broth flavor, then added garlic, zuchinni and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I liked the recipe. Added my own spin. Sautéed a chopped onion, garlic till soft. Took 5 mild sausage links browned them and cut them up. Set aside. Added stock to onions with tomatoes. Added cut up mushrooms and spinach. Added spices -garlic, oregano, basil pepper. Added sausage ot soup and cooked tortellini. Simmer for another ten minutes and serve. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Easy soup to make. A little bland, so I added a pinch of cayanne, italian seasoning and used chicken broth. Substituted Kale for Spinach and cooked til almost tender before adding tortellini. Then, WOW it was the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This is delicious. I added leftover smoked chicken, used fresh kale instead of spinach, increased the garlic to 2 cloves, sautéed it with a little onion, carrot. Then added some basil at the end. OMG!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Great base recipe. I sauted carrots, onion, garlic for a few minutes then added chicken bouillon, broth and tomatoes. Added spinach last with my tortellini. Many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This was the most bland soup EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States