Tortellini Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This has to be one of the best soups I've ever made. It has a great flavour, but I did find a pound of sausage to be too much. I will cut the meat down at least by half. I used fairly spicy italian sausage. I omitted the peppers and didn't have parmesan cheese. My husband has already asked for it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
OH MY GOSH! This is the BEST soup! We all loved it, even the kids.... I made a couple of modifications, because of what I had on hand... instead of sausage, I used ground beef... instead of beef broth I used chicken... and omitted the red wine and instead added a tablespoon or so of Worchestershire sauce. YUMMY STUFF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This was fantastic! The only thing I changed was using added beef broth for the water and only using a dash of wine. My husband loved it and is taking the leftovers (I halved the recipe)for lunch tomorrow. I'm jealous. My toddler picked the tortellini and sausage out. Next time I make it, I'll try fresh tortellini rather than frozen. Thanks for a yummy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This soup has a wonderful flavor and is very satisfying. I'm impressed with the simplicity of the ingredients and preparation. Like others, I substituted paste for sauce and then made a few other modifications, like two small potatoes instead of zucchini, omitting the peppers and parsely, substituting 2 cups of rotini for the tortellini, and using 28 oz. of stewed tomatoes. Worked great! A very versatile recipe, Donna. Nice job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
WOW, WOW, WOW Never before has a recipe been so complete and adjustable at the same time!! This was great because you can follow the recipe or you can tweek it to fit your pantry/fridge and still get great results everytime!! I added celery and 1 red bell and 1 green instead of 2 greens. I used a bit of Prego chunky garden combo sauce and a can of tomato paste in place of the tomatoe sauce and added a bit more spice since I used italian turkey rather then pork and the results were amazing. I ate it for breakfast and dinner the next day. I just couldn't get enough!!! Many Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PichiPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
I thought this was a fabulous way to make Tortellini soup. I left out the bell peppers (Contadina Stewed Tomatoes already had some in their cans and its not overpowering either) and swapped the Tomato sauce for Tomato Paste. However, do not use too much. In my opinion, I prefer the beef broth. Add to much sauce/paste and it thickens into a pasta sauce, which is great too, but its not how I vision tortellini soup so i think keeping to the broth is best with all the additions! Thanks Donna. It tasted super delicious on the very first try!!!!!!!!!!! Now that's what I call a really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
Excellent Soup, Very Hearty I used hot Italian sausage and tomato paste instead of tomato sauce. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENB1961

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
We don't eat meat so I substituted Boca Italian sausage (4 links) and used a little olive oil. Also used a veggie broth instead of beef and it was OUTSTANDING!! Great for a cold winter evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
I loved this soup and my husband said it's the best soup he's ever had! I used the three cheese tortellini and the flavor was excellent. Thank you Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
THE BEST ... I made this soup with Thanksgiving Dinner. My family, even the kids, couldn't stop raving about it. To make it more like a soup, rather than a stew, I added 4 more cups of beef broth. I substituted frozen red & green bagged peppers for the fresh green peppers. I made it the Tuesday before Thanksgiving to let the flavors blend. I had a bowl for Wednesday's lunch. It was delicious. I will absolutely make this again... Thanks Donna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States