Tortellini Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
AMAZING base recipe! I doubled parts of the recipe to load it up with lots of veggies and cooked it all in my Dutch oven. I omitted the water and bell pepper. I used sweet Italian turkey sausage instead of pork. I sautéed 4 cloves of minced garlic (we love garlic) with the onion. I added 5 cans of beef broth along with broccoli that needed to be used, carrots, one 12oz can of Hunts whole tomatoes (used kitchen shears to cut them up), one can of fire roasted diced tomatoes, one small can of garlic tomato sauce, added the herbs, and simmered it in the Dutch oven uncovered for 30 min. I then added a package (8oz) of spinach tortellini and a package (8oz) of prosciutto tortellini, diced up one zucchini and two squash. I also sautéed up diced crimini mushrooms and added with the tortellini. Lastly, I substituted dry sherry for red wine (didn’t have any red wine). As the day went on I continued to add cans of beef broth to accompany all the yummy veggies. The juice was one of the best parts of this stew! My husband raved this was the best stew he has ever had…. I must agree. It will become a staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I really didn't like this. It was easy to put together and all but the flavor was just not good in my opinion. Husband had seconds but said he didn't like it much either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
SO GOOD! I loved this soup and got many compliments! Will absolutely make this again! I didn't have any wine so I just added an extra 1/2 cup of water...I do want to try it with the wine next time though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaEmmers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
When I first made this, I was a little leary, because I wasn't sure my family (especially the kids) would like it given the ingredients. I made it exactly as the recipe stated and it was actually wonderful. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars is because it was actually pretty greasy. If I could find a lower fat sausage or a turkey sausage, I think I might like it better. I cut up the veggies the night before, so when I got home from work all I had to do was brown the sausage and throw everything else together and let it simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This soup was incredible! I used chicken broth instead of beef broth and added extra tomatoes and zucchini. The flavor of the spicy Italian sausage was amazing. This is the best soup I've ever made! (Jamie's Minestrone on this site is the second best!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amninta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This was a great and easy soup. I added more broth when adding the peppers. It still turned out a little thick but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Great soup. My family doesn't like zucchini - so I substituted 1 1/2 c. chopped spinach. Great for cold winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
The broth of this soup was really good; it had a great flavor. However, the vegetables were not tender enough. I have a gas stove and letting the green pepper and zucchini simmmer for 45 minutes (I used frozen tortellini) was not enough time. Next time I will sautee the carrots, peppers, and zucchini at the beginning with the onions and garlic and then let the recipe simmer for 30 minutes before adding the tortellini. Also, my husband was not a huge fan of tortellini being in a soup. I liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
awsome the hood loved . serve with a good cab and great bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I've made this so many times and it's unbelievably good. I've taken leftovers to work (it makes a LOT) and my coworkers are always happy :-) I don't change a thing...it's great as is! edit...I fibbed a little! I forgot that I've tried this using turkey italian sausage and it's still delicious, flavorful and a hair lighter in fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States