Tortellini Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This soup is absolutely delicious. I love it! I used a bit more beef broth just to make it more brothy and I used fresh basil instead of dried basil but otherwise I followed the recipe to a T and is is great. Full of flavor and depth - very hearty and satisfying. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
this soup is fantastic. made it just as the recipe states, added a loaf of french bread. Can't go wrong with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
AMAZING base recipe! I doubled parts of the recipe to load it up with lots of veggies and cooked it all in my Dutch oven. I omitted the water and bell pepper. I used sweet Italian turkey sausage instead of pork. I sautéed 4 cloves of minced garlic (we love garlic) with the onion. I added 5 cans of beef broth along with broccoli that needed to be used, carrots, one 12oz can of Hunts whole tomatoes (used kitchen shears to cut them up), one can of fire roasted diced tomatoes, one small can of garlic tomato sauce, added the herbs, and simmered it in the Dutch oven uncovered for 30 min. I then added a package (8oz) of spinach tortellini and a package (8oz) of prosciutto tortellini, diced up one zucchini and two squash. I also sautéed up diced crimini mushrooms and added with the tortellini. Lastly, I substituted dry sherry for red wine (didn’t have any red wine). As the day went on I continued to add cans of beef broth to accompany all the yummy veggies. The juice was one of the best parts of this stew! My husband raved this was the best stew he has ever had…. I must agree. It will become a staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I really didn't like this. It was easy to put together and all but the flavor was just not good in my opinion. Husband had seconds but said he didn't like it much either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
SO GOOD! I loved this soup and got many compliments! Will absolutely make this again! I didn't have any wine so I just added an extra 1/2 cup of water...I do want to try it with the wine next time though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaEmmers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
When I first made this, I was a little leary, because I wasn't sure my family (especially the kids) would like it given the ingredients. I made it exactly as the recipe stated and it was actually wonderful. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars is because it was actually pretty greasy. If I could find a lower fat sausage or a turkey sausage, I think I might like it better. I cut up the veggies the night before, so when I got home from work all I had to do was brown the sausage and throw everything else together and let it simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This soup was incredible! I used chicken broth instead of beef broth and added extra tomatoes and zucchini. The flavor of the spicy Italian sausage was amazing. This is the best soup I've ever made! (Jamie's Minestrone on this site is the second best!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amninta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This was a great and easy soup. I added more broth when adding the peppers. It still turned out a little thick but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Great soup. My family doesn't like zucchini - so I substituted 1 1/2 c. chopped spinach. Great for cold winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
The broth of this soup was really good; it had a great flavor. However, the vegetables were not tender enough. I have a gas stove and letting the green pepper and zucchini simmmer for 45 minutes (I used frozen tortellini) was not enough time. Next time I will sautee the carrots, peppers, and zucchini at the beginning with the onions and garlic and then let the recipe simmer for 30 minutes before adding the tortellini. Also, my husband was not a huge fan of tortellini being in a soup. I liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States