Tortellini Salad with Grilled Tomato Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Good, but not Wow. However, the tomato vinaigrette was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This one is a winner and my favorite summer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Many people like this recipe and I had high hopes after reading the reviews for this salad. However, I found that the after roasting the tomatoes and adding the tomato paste, the "tomato base" did little for flavor and served more to add color to what is basically a vinaigrette dressing. The only flavor seemed to be the vinegar (which is fine when you want that flavor, however, I was expecting a better blending and a stronger tomato flavor given the time it takes to roast and process). May add more honey and/or more tomato paste next time if I ever make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I have made this several times, to rave reviews! It's always the first dish to disappear at a cookout- I do add a little more honey to the dressing, other than that I follow the recipe exactly. The ingredients take time to prepare but it's well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I loved this. I made it for a 4th of July barbeque. I actually made it the night before and put in the fridge without the dressing. That I made in a food processor and poured into the cruet that comes with good seasoning dressing. While it does not hold every drop, you don't need it all anyway. About an hour before serving, I took it out of the fridge and pour about half the dressing on it. Once it came to room temp, I poured about half what was left on it so it was moist but not soggy. Everyone loved it. The tomato based vinergarette was a nice change. The only subs I made were changing out the provolone with mozzarella and omitting rosemary. Purely personal taste. There are alot of ingredients but it's stuff you probably have anyway. Glad I made it the day before because it was a little time consuming. Thanks Nicole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This salad is awesome! I made it (for the very first time) for a party at work and there were no leftovers to take home. My co-workers liked it so much they took some home with them. I followed another's review and added mozzarella balls, sauteed crimini mushrooms and yellow peppers. I'm not a big rosemary fan so I cut way back on that. Definitely a keeper recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blossburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This had really good flavor. Great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I tripled this recipe for a party as is and everyone loved it. It went very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I really loved the recipe, but the canned tomato paste left a weird taste. I will try with a tube paste or omit. No doubt it's a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONIAEDGAR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was a great side for a hot summer night. It says to serve warm, but I let it sit in the fridge for an hour or two before dinner, letting the flavors really sink in. I also made the following changes: I halved the dressing recipe, but still used 2.5 tomatoes, I added sauteed mushrooms, used red, green and yellow peppers, I omitted the tomato paste and fresh spices because I was out and added red pepper flakes and lots of freshly ground pepper. Instead of grating the provolone, I cut up little cubes adding even more texture and flavor. I think you could add any a variety of vegetables to this recipe and the dressing could be used for a variety of things as well! I would make this recipe again. UPDATE: I made this once again cutting up cubes of provolone, but also added mozzarella balls and used herb paste. Once again, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States