Tortellini Salad with Grilled Tomato Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I messed up the dressing after trying to adjust the recipe to 40 servings. Way too much for my food processor and I was running out of time and patience, so I used bottled sun-dried tomato vinaigrette, which worked very well. I used the tri-color tortellini, red and yellow peppers, genoa salami and pepperoni. It looked amazing, so bright and colorful-great presentation for my graduation party! Oh, and it actually tasted great, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRFISH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This recipe is outstanding. I made a lot of unintentional substitutions to use what I had on hand so I wouldn't have to go to the grocery store. I didn't have tomato paste, so I just omitted it. I subbed shredded mozzarella for the provolone, 1 beefsteak tomato for the 3 roma tomatoes, spinach and cheese tortellini for the rainbow tortellini, pepperoni for the salami, orange bell pepper for the red, and dried herbs for the fresh (I just used about 1/2 as much, maybe less). I completely forgot the lemon juice, even though it was right on the counter in front of me. LOL! I do think that this recipe makes too much vinaigrette--I only used half, and it was plenty to coat the salad and provide excellent flavor. It would be good for regular salad, too, so I put the rest in the fridge to use later, but I would halve it next time. I didn't add salt and pepper to the final product, although I did add some to the vinaigrette. I don't think you need much salt and pepper if at all--plenty of other flavors going on in this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving and got compliments on it. I didn't have red wine or balsamic, so I subbed white wine vinegar. I also added whole black olives and cherry tomatoes. I made a 1/2 recipe, which is more than enough for 6 side servings, probably more like 8-10. You could use Italian dressing with some olive oil to simplify this recipe, but the dressing is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Very good! Made this for a work potluck and everyone said they enjoyed it. Very nice for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERA1088

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
Excellent salad, we like this as our main dish and some fresh baked bread on the side. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This is an awesome pasta salad and pretty easy to make, despite all the ingredients. The only thing is that the pasta is listed twice in the recipe, so the Allrecipes shopping list will be wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This salad is very easy to make and was a big hit. I omitted the fresh rosemary, and used more honey b/c the vinaigrette tasted to tart for me. I will make this salad again but I would woulnd't use red wine vinegar, only balsamic and I would add more garlic. This salad would make a wonderful main dish, served w/ fresh bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wabash, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
What a great recipe! I was scared and overwhelmed because of all the ingredients; however this was very easy to make! I used balsamic instead of red wine. I also added broccoli, cauliflower, green & yellow peppers and red onions. Since then, I have been making the vinaigrette and using it on regular salads. I definitely recommend this recipe! Thanks so much Nicole!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was excellent. There were a ton of ingredients, but it came out very well, and we all loved it, including my very picky wife. This is DEFINITELY a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Finger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Very good, the salad has a wonderful taste. Made just the vinaigrette again today for our regular side salad. Both are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States