Tortellini Pesto Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
VERY GOOD I ONLY USED THE OLIVE OIL, VINEGAR WITH THE PESTO. DIDNT USE THE MILK OR MAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Substituted 1 lg red pepper (coarse chopped), reduced broccoli & carrot by 1/4. Omitted olives (wife hates them), split the quantity of pesto between basil pesto and sundried tomato pesto, added cubed proccuito. Absolutely the best pasta salad I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I was looking for a pasta salad with a twist and I definitely got what I was looking for! This salad was a HUGE hit - with several people asking me for the recipe. I made it exactly to recipe, but added halved cherry tomatoes. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This is a good recipe, that is not so generic, like so many of your other pasta salad recipes. I followed the recipe completly, except I used roasted red peppers (from a jar) instead of the fresh ones, and I ommited the olives. It was tasty and I received compliments on it from some very picky and not so darring diners. Thanks for the recipe and everyone else who submits recipes, reviews and hints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
If you are looking for bold pesto flavor in your salad, this may not be the recipe for you. The milk in the dressing really helps tame the bold basil flavor. I used the dressing in a tortellini salad with ingredients I had on hand. I used artichokes, roasted red pepper, kalamata, and sun-dried tomato. I like the addition of the spinach leaves so I threw them in. Makes for a pretty salad. I like the dressing, it was good because it was more on the mild side and more suitable for a wide range of taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Due to the amount of pesto used (and the garlic it contains), I omitted the extra clove, and it was still a bit overpowering. I wanted a unique pasta salad to splurge with, but this may not have been worth the calories to us. Nice to try something different, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This was a huge hit at a family gathering. I used tri-colored spirals instead of tortellini, jarred red bell pepper instead of fresh, and omitted the carrots and spinach. I also chopped the green olives so they were spread around nicely in the pasta and not overpowering. I omitted all the dairy except for what was in the pesto, and used balsamic vinegar instead of white so it wasn't too tart. This version wasn't too heavy but still had a unique flavor that had everyone asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This was very good. My family does not like olives so, I omitted them and slightly cut down on the milk to make a thicker dressing. I just wanted a pure pasta salad so I did not add the spinach but I'm sure it would taste fine with it. The only other thing I did was to add 6 slices of crisp crumbled bacon... very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
DELICIOUS! I didn't even wait for this salad to get cold before eating a small bowl! I followed the recipe as stated except for the olives (didn't have any). Also, my frozen tortellini cooked in 3-4 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
This dressing is SO good! It tastes like it came from an Italian deli. I followed the recommendation below to omit the mayo and milk. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States