Tortellini Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
My husband really liked this.. scored it 8 out of 10. I thought it was excellent. My son, who is very picky, did not like it, but that was OK by us, it meant we had more! The only minor changes I made were, 1) only used 1/2 a jalapeno, since I have a wimpy palette, (Hubby would have loved the extra heat) 2) used a can of green chilies since that's all I had on hand and 3) used milk with the flour, not oil. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Good, but not one I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I tend to like my tortellini Italian spiced only! I used fresh oregano and German thyme I did enjoy finding an easy way to make it like a chowder. Normally I don't use potatoes. Its very hardy, great to warm up with on a blistery cool day. I didn't use the Mexican spices listed but I make lots of soups and I didn't need a Mexican style dish. I think the spices are spot on if you need one. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaPhotoGurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Very good and hearty on a cold evening. Some reviewers have been put off by the tortellini/potato combination. I agree, it's unusual, but it was interesting. I mixed the flour with chicken stock to cut out a bit of the fat and used olive oil in place of the margarine to sauté the veggies. I also used canned green chilis and chipotle chili powder (because that's what I had in the pantry)--very flavorful. I "pinned" this recipe so that I will have it on hand to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
great as is except i added a can of cream corn , other wise fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by richard roper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ayer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I omitted the jalapeno (because I didn't have one on hand) and yet I found the chowder to be very spicy! Next time I think I'll use only a pinch of ground red pepper .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I was looking for a hearty soup that was a bit different and not a tomato based soup. This fit the bill. I didn't have jalapeno peppers so I added a few extra pieces of red and yellow peppers. I would put in 1/2 to 1 tsp of cayenne or chili powder next time to add some heat but it tasted good as is. I'll make this again when I am looking for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Delicious! I only had yellow bell pepper, so I used that. After the potatoes cooked in the broth, I added the tortellini right in there to cook, instead of dirting another pot (yes, I'm lazy, lol). When they were just about done, I added in the corn and 1/2 & 1/2. I thickened w/ Wondra flour instead of the flour/oil mixture. I didn't find this bland at all, we thought it was very flavorful. This was a wonderful, different soup that I will be making over and over~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Awesome!! The smells were wonderful as it was cooking and you never know if it will taste as good...but it was fantastic. And just got better with time as it seasoned. I always believe cumin is the key so added a tiny bit extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This soup was very good. Has great flavor. I do not like spicy hot so it was a bit spicy for me but my husband thought it was great. I will defiantly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States